ULOG: My Ataxia Story & How Steemit May Help!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #ulog5 years ago

download.jpg

My Ataxia Story!
(And How Steemit May Help)

Growing up, I was always athletic. I excelled at sports and I absolutely loved the competition sports provided. I was always picked first in gym class and my teams were always pretty good.

Then, something changed. My skills were on the decline and I did not know why. My once, very good, balance and co-ordination were getting worse and worse.

It was no secret that there was something going on, but I honestly had no clue what was happening. After years of ignoring and hiding my symptoms, my parents dragged me to my first neurologist appointment. The Doctor's were baffled as well.

They knew it was something neurological, but they were confused on what it was, exactly. Test were ordered, scans were taken- still no conclusion. It took, going all the way to the Mayo Clinic in Minnesota in 1997 to finally get my general diagnosis of 'Ataxia.'

So, after a two-year journey, I finally had my diagnosis...Well kind of. It was over a decade later that my family and I learned the exact name of the disease that I have been dealing with since childhood- AOA2. Ataxia with Ocular Apraxia Type 2, to be exact. It's quite a mouthful.

I am now almost 40 years old and have been living with my diagnosis for half my life. Living with a rare, degenerative, neurological disease is hard, and beyond frustrating, but I have learned to adapt and flourish! I am determined to fight this crappy disease and I will **NEVER GIVE UP!

Steemit As a Fund Raising Tool?

There are many types of Ataxia, mine being the most rare. Because it is pretty uncommon, not much is know about it and fundraising for research is extremely limited. I try do do my part and I believe Steemit can help me in my fundraising pursuits. I have been thinking about this for months, and I would love some suggestions down in the comments.

Sometime, in the near future, I am going to open a Steemit account dedicated to Ataxia- primarily to spread awareness and hopefully raise a little coin.

To learn more about Ataxia, visit:ataxia.org

57242D61-BC1C-444D-9BF5-3163F0CE3E38.png
To receive the free basic income tokens you are entitled to and help end world wide poverty, please click the following:

35AC98E0-AE28-4883-93C6-8A2345B64AE8.jpeg

Click For Manna Coins

8BF3E248-7FF1-4C9C-B3C8-ADC3F436E417.png

Get into the game. [Join @steemmonsters, today! Click HERE to join the battle!

🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟🐟

Get Paid for Your Instagram posts, and more with @share2steem! Join by clicking here!

57242D61-BC1C-444D-9BF5-3163F0CE3E38.png

Bitcoin donations: 1GF4m2LJNJRkht1BGFyLb5btdZXE2DXtR6


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98