I've not been to the movies in ages but....

in #ulog5 years ago

Last night we had a family outing for a change. Since all of us a big music fans, and to be even more accurate Queen fans, it was a no brainer for us to want to go checkout the new film Bohemian Rhapsody, and boy it blew me away.



img src

I'm not one to do movie reviews, not because I don't love them, but because there are plenty of people on STEEM who are possibly ten times more talented that I will ever be talking about films, but honestly I could not help but to voice my opinion on this little gem.

Whoever did the casting scored a homerun. All the actors picked, some I knew, some I had never seen before were just perfect. The actor who played Freddie Mercury, Rami Malek, did such an amazing job I could not help but to smile the whole way through.

All the moves present, the facial expressions, the phrasing, everything. I just can't believe someone was able to pull it off that well, and I would be surprised if Malek does not win an award for his performance. In my opinion him not winning an award would be close to criminal.

Now, it's important to note that not everything that happened in the movie is 100% accurate, but only if you are a die hard fan like myself you would know that and to be honest, maybe that's not as important as remembering the legend himself. I've said countless of times that to me, the best rock singer that has ever lived was Freddie Mercury and watching this film reminded me of that thought all over again.

So listen, if you are a Queen fan and you've been wondering if this is going to be a flop or something, let me tell you, you will freaking love it, the whole thing.

Fun detail, even thought Mike Myers shows up as an executive who is opposing the release of Bohemian Rhapsody, it is 100% true that Freddie got a lot of resistance with that song. All the critiques you hear regarding how ridiculous it was, the length, the made up words, all those were part of the real story, but they were expressed by different voices within the organization, not just one "evil" executive. But, giving the audience the "evil" executive worked like a charm, or at least it did for me.

Don't wait for this to come out to DVD, or Netflix (that's what the kids use these days), go see it... and let me know if you loved it as much as I did.

I'm still singing this morning....

Sort:  

This post has received a 5.00% upvote from @aiyanna!

This is an extra way we have decided to give back and award serious bloggers!

Feel free to leave a comment or suggestion to improve the efforts of this bot. Delegation and donations will be used to increase steem power.

Si many amazing songs, have not seen the movie but remember many queen songs with fondness, epic songs and amazing vocals

ive never covered a queen song... dont dare to! hahahha

I actually sang who wants to live forever once

Huge Queen fan myself ! Still waiting for the movie (Original Version) to come out in France tho !
I love Bohemian Rhapsody (The song) ! I love how they played the levels throughout the song: it starts quiet, them angry & loud and finally gets back to sad & quiet.

Rami Malek is a great actor ! I am a fan of his work since I saw him first in Mr Robot in 2015 (u should check it out if u haven't yet).

I adored the film! The acting was spectacular, and I found the tidbits about Freddie just fascinating. I went home and listened to Queen for hours and googled interviews because really, the movie left me wanting more. I could have watched two more hours of it at least.

Thanks for the tip and we will be going to the cinema to see this one. Love Queen.

i am gonna wait and download it as i am not that much fan of that type of movies, although i really love queen!

Greetings, @meno. I'm looking forward to watching this movie. I love Malek's work. He's a hell of an actor. The negative criticism I have read has to do with a sort of appologetic tone regarding Mercury's flaws. As if the movie tries too hard to whitewash his reputation.
Historical accuracy or biases are ubicuous in biopics. I would look for other cinematic elements to judge whether the movies is good or not.

My daughter @dismayedworld went to see it several days ago and told me it was great. I'm hearing nothing but Queen songs from her bedroom now.

She's just 15 but loves the stuff I grew up with and not the crap that's about now. It really says something doesn't it?

People who don't like queens music baffle me hahaha

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for review I'm going to see this movie with my wife on next week when she will back from her work trip!

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice review, now I know what to go and see in the cinema, thanks for sharing!

/FF

I'm happy to read this review. Just the motivation I needed to get off the couch on my first day off in a few months and go see it!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66