Ulog #1: A day of FULFILLMENT.....No Looking Back Again

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Ulog @motivationdoctor final logo.png
I hope this will help someone never to stop believing in him or herself again. Inside of you are gifts and talents that are yet to be tapped and explored.

This is the story of what happened to me yesterday at my place of work, and I’m so glad I will be sharing it with my friends in this post.

First and foremost, thumb up to my steemit number one ambassador @surpassinggoogle for coming up with this beautiful initiative called #ULOG. Of a truth, it will help a lot of Ulogger to share their wonderful daily experiences with the world, and by that process impact into many lives.

Therefore, no matter how your day looked like, just search within, and look for that aspect that brought joy and good memory to you because in that will you see fulfillment.
newfulfillmentlogo.jpg
source

MY SHORT STORY OF FULFILLMENT


I work in an environment where a lot of competition exist. And this is so much that, no matter how good you are at what you do, it is very difficult to impress your colleagues, how much more your superiors. Due to this, a lot people in my office always ended up doing what they do not love to do just because they want to be in the good books of their superiors. Note that I’m not saying employees should not put their best to their work or impress their bosses, but not at the detriment of masterminding the downfall of another fellow colleague.

On this faithful day, the assignment giving to me was to prepare a comprehensive lecture for our first general meeting in the month of April, and that for me was a big task, to a level that I cannot afford to disappoint myself and the entire workforce. The topic giving to me was a difficult one, and the time giving to me to prepare for this lecture was very short due someone’s act of irresponsibility.

The person that supposed to inform me about the lecture, intentionally withheld the information until a day to the meeting. When I confronted him of giving the information late, his response was that of someone that actually wanted me to fail by all means. So, I have just 24 hours to prepare a power-point presentation that is of good standard with all required details to make it educative and interesting. NOW YOU CAN IMAGINE WHAT I MEAN WHEN I SAID " my failure is what they are after.

My ability to deliver a good presentation in this scenario is key to my continuous engagement with the company. Now to add to my present predicament, I was informed just 12 hours to the meeting that our Group Managing Director (GMD) will be coming for the same meeting, and this is because he is on a 2 days inspection visit to our region, which will along the way make him to pay us a visit at the Regional office.
The-surest-way-to-fail-is-not-to-determine-to-succeed..jpg
source

Immediately I heard this, I almost fainted and short of breath. The person in question is a pure perfectionist with choleric temperament, who believes that everyone working for him should never make any mistake whatsoever. So, the situation is not only that I want to impress my Regional Manager and my fellow colleagues, but also the owner of the company that I work for.

With all that had happened before the recent revelation of my GMD coming, the pressure on me was so much that I wish I could just run away or disappear (I don't want to fail at all). If you can relates with what I was facing at that point in time, you will agree with me that, my worries is not how to prepare a lecture for the meeting but THE TYPE OF LECTURE THAT WILL PORTRAY ME AS SOMEONE THAT CAN BE TRUSTED TO DELIVER ANYTIME AND ANY DAY, which was the exact thing I was seriously worried about. For me, this is one opportunity of a lifetime, and I don’t want to miss it for any reason.

To cut a long story short, I received a thumb up from my GMD for a good and interesting lecture (using his exact words now), in fact the regional manager and my colleagues who listened to the presentation stood up to give a standing ovation for a job well done. To be honest with you, I was overwhelmed with joy and fulfillment with how the whole situation played out.
e4c87794f6b2d6c5f2799c5dfaa9fc44.jpg
source

When I thought of the beginning of the whole story, and how I was informed late of the presentation, and the probability of failing due to the time given to me to prepare, and what later happened. The only conclusion I could come out with was that; the opportunity given to me to deliver that presentation was actually my ticket for the next level as far as my career is concern, and am really grateful to God for such an opportunity.

So, my advice to everyone reading this post is that, whenever the world throws anything at you in order to hurt you, chose to always see the brighter side to it and make such situation to work all together for your good. Remember; when the going gets tough, the tough gets going.

Thank you all for taking out time to visit this blog page and I hope this my first short #ulog series experience has really helped you in one way or the other.

Don’t forget to drop your comment and as well resteem for others to see and be inspired by it.

@motivationdoctor 1.png

@motivationdoctor; always inspired to inspire others.

Sort:  

Honestly the unhealthy competition in offices like that can not be described! It was present at my former place of work too. Dirty politics being played underground... Terrible!

I'm so glad you outshone all of the naysayers! Congrats darling... It will only get better forward!

@mosunomotunde. I really appreciates this response coming from you. I just pray that our effort no matter the politic will not go unnoticed. Thank you dearie for always encouraging me. One love.

you can write as authers, yes as you said competition is very important in office or where that you work in there. but i think that is the duty of manger to Balance between people who work on that office. thanks for your great content

Thanks for dropping by. Really appreciate this.

I really like your post. Thank you for share your experience !

Awww..... thanks dearie for that lovely comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78