“The Bond”: 2nd Anecdote to log in #ULOG

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-207691.jpeg
source

Let me start my second anecdote here in #steemit community. This was my childhood memory and I'm expecting that almost everyone can relate with the story I am going to tell.


I started my education in a public elementary school in our barangay or barrio. The said school is located just about a hundred meters away from our home. Well for the benefit of #steemians who are not familiar of the units of community and educational system established by the Philippine government, "barangay" or "barrio" is the smallest unit of community of Philippine society where in group of families are living together. It is almost equivalent to a village. Now, public schools especially elementary and secondary schools are usually named after the name of the barangay for elementary schools while secondary or high schools are named after the town where it is located.

Now I think I've got you a bunch of trivia already so I will proceed to the main story.

When I was a kid, my mother was preparing me to study in an elementary school. A few days before the first day of school was like a torture to me. I was really afraid to go there. What I remembered well was that the reason why I am afraid to be there is that I will not be seeing my mother for about four hours! Yes, I really cannot imagine myself in a new world without my mother and 4 long hours is like a one year equivalent period to me! It is indeed an exageration but this was how I imagined things when I was a small kid.

A day before the schooling starts is like a nightmare to me. I remembered it well when I was praying innocently which I wish that time will just stop at night and that the sun will stop rising and the roosters will not sound like trumpets and the birds will just stop singing in the morning so that everyone will still fall asleep! Hahaha! Funny isn't it?

Anyway, as expected my wish did not come true.

pexels-photo-1128574.jpeg
source

My mother woke me up the following morning as she prepares the breakfast for the family. I did not respond first with my mother's wake up call because I felt like I got butterflies in my stomach. My whole body is chilling maybe because of fear or maybe I was just paranoid that time as I am not certain of what will happen during class time.

However, life must go on as they say so I made myself ready and told myself a few times to not be afraid because my elder sister was there. I told myself that if she did it before maybe I can do it also.

In short, I found myself inside the classroom, and my mother told me that she will be just there outside and will wait there until the school is finished. But she lied (a white lie maybe hehehe!) to me because as soon as she saw me sitting down in my wooden armchair, she waved her hand and made a sign language that she will just comeback. But she never did until the bell rang as a signal that the school time is finished that day.

She just came a few minutes after the ringing of the bell to fetch me up.

So going back inside the classroom, I got even a horrible experience because my seatmate on my right is a bully! He would try to look me fiercely and try to pinch my arms as soon it gets near to him. Then he would try to get my pencil and write a doddle art in my paper. Hahaha! Did I say doddle art? Poor me, I can't even make a revenge because my mother told me that I have to behave accordingly in the classroom. I have to be kind and courteous and polite and honest and she warned me not to cause any trouble with classmates. She further said that if I can do it, the teacher may give a reward-- either a star in my hand or a ribbon. I was actually enticed by the ribbon reward thing so I kept my temper with that bully kid beside me. I let him do his thing in my piece of paper and I even gave him another piece when he started to tear his work of art. He tried to make more doddles in the 2nd piece of paper but when I noticed that the pencil need to be resharpened, I told him to stop and offered my sharpener to him which my mother bought for me. Hahaha!

kids-girl-pencil-drawing-159823.jpeg
source

Just like magic, the beast beside me became as kind as a lamb. I discovered that he has very few school supplies in his bag and he didn't even have an "X-
Men"
pencil case! Did I sound like a bully too? Hehehe. So I let him borrow any item that I own and that moment was the begining of an amazing social relationship, the so called BOND OF FRIENDSHIP!

Lesson learned: We all have fears in our minds but the will to overcome it is key to improve ourselves.

With regards to behavior, we sometimes need to understand deeply why other people are acting negatively to us before we will respond back, negatively to them. Who knows? You, yourself is the key, for them to change their behaviors positively.

Well dear #steemians, I'll end my story here but don't worry there will be a part 2 for this. My next story will be about, "The King".

============n=a=n=t=z==============
Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @acidyo, @jerrybanfield, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

=============n=a=n=t=z==============
Much love, God bless!

Your UPVOTE|RESTEEM|FOLLOW, will always be my source of motivation and inspiration.

Sort:  

I will resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. Read my profile @a-a-a

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen for the SteemPH UAE : Daily Featured Posts | 04 June 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17