ULOG #1: MY VERY FIRST APPEARANCE TO ULOGGING - LIFE AS A REAL MECHANIC

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I've seen a lot of Ulog posts around here on steemit for a while and I'll say, it's been really fun to get to experience people's day through their posts. This has been a really great initiative by @surpassinggoogle. So it's my time now to start sharing with you all the proceeds of my day.
image.png
Source

So up until now all I've been in my field of study was a mechanical engineering student, but after the end of my third year I had to participate in the long vacation Industrial attachment program. I managed to secure a spot with an institutional Garage and now I am a Mechanic Intern at Bill's Autoklinic. Quite correctly, I've been an Intern for 1 week and three days; today being my second second week, third day.
image.png
Source

So as i do always; wake up at 5 am to wash my dad's car and then start preparing at 6 to go to work. The journey to the work place beginning from my side is quite the slow and bumpy one. Why? because the road is rigged with potholes as if it was intentionally done, and the public transport (Which we call Trotro) intentionally waits at every junction for a while just to get more passengers. That's my number one hurdle in a day and the slow bumpiness is killing. I usually need a second Trotro and to get to my work place.Before that I met my other co-intern (and friend) there as we mostly usually do and we got to work some few minutes after 8, changed into my overalls in the Technicians room, and we went looking for our Supervisor who was working on his car that had given him a headache that morning. He said the distributor in the engine had a problem and it was misfiring so he had to disassemble and re fix it. We didn't get to see the disassembled part though, it'd have been fun :(.
IMG_20180626_105125.jpg
My partner @karen-k trying to take out the battery to explore inside the car
We were exploring the car whiles waiting for our supervisor who had been sent by the MD.

When he came back later on, we had to work on this car that had unfortunately been caught in a flood and had it's interior parts all wet. The car had been dried during the weekend so all we had to do was replace all the parts that had been taken out before ridding the car of all the water inside. I've had some experience with working inside my dad's car so this particular task came quite easy for me.
IMG_20180625_171628.jpg

IMG_20180625_171636.jpg

Since the company is quite new, we don't got quite many tasks forcing our hands so we Karen and I get to walk around the place for a while before there's a new task ahead. After a while we had to work on our final task of the day. So this car was brought in and the client apparently kept hearing noises from his car and wanted the noise totally gone. The senior staff after taking the car out on a ride suspected the noise to be from the steering section connections beneath the car. So we had to lift the car with the hydraulic lift with someone messing with the steer inside so the guys would pinpoint where exactly the noise was from. And guess who was doing the messing around.
IMG_20180629_120836.jpg
IMG_20180629_120614.jpg

Seems like she was having a fun time up there. After, there wasn't any real work to do around again. We just kept asking our supervisor some random questions about stuff we were curious inside the car until it was time to go home. I for one appreciate everything we do there because we barely get any practical experience about automobiles in class and so everything we do there is worth it, no matter how minute it may seem.

All unsourced pictures taken from my phone
Nokia 3

I guess that's how my day went. How did your's go?


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

well you here now hope you write good post anyway

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87