Ulog 17: Second day of driving

in #ulog6 years ago

72A0EA59-8206-4912-B8FB-40091CB31D16.jpeg

It’s a little past midnight and I feel exhausted. I have been on the road for a little over 13 hours. I got to Orland at around 9pm. I met up with a childhood friend who will be going with us to Seaworld tomorrow as well. He brought him his girlfriend and her daughter.

He also brought me a bunch of local fruits from Florida. They include logans, guavas, and rambuttans. I don’t think the chom chom are local but I think he wants to be a good host since everyone who comes to Florida wants to eat some local fruits.

24E40EA2-E9DE-4D48-98E4-92A4FC04E62A.jpeg

Earlier when I passed through Savannah, Georgia we stopped by a Vietnamese restaurant by the name of Vietnam Bistro. Food was just okay. I had a bowl of Bun Cha Ha Noi.

C844F56A-29CB-4A1B-8F2C-2A3F2DC175A9.jpeg

My wife didn’t like the food too much either. We always like to drop by Vietnamese places when we go on vacation to show support.

This place has some nice decorations on the wall. We saw these hats adorned on the wall.

5E88F1DB-EEE0-4CAA-9F22-10A7064FAE58.jpeg

We also were able to eat some South Carolina’s peaches. We bought these peaches from a peach stand.

5BBCE305-72AF-4C68-98F1-AFB292BD3B36.jpeg

The two ladies selling these peaches 🍑 were really friendly. We asked to take pictures with them. Well I was the cameraman and my mother-in-law was taking pictures. We’ve heard about the quality of the peaches down here and try for ourselves. They were selling them in small crates of 6 for $6.00. As I spoke to them, I asked about them and if they have the crunchier. They put 4 more in my bag and just gave them to me. So I ended with 10 big peaches for the price of $6.00. It helps to be nice.

19E40668-2E56-464E-AC68-AC62127570D0.jpeg

My mother-in-law and wife said that the peaches are sweeter and more tasteful because they are fresh. Even my daughter liked it.

Another place we stopped at was the “South of the Border” souvenir shop near Myrtle Beach. Man this place was commercialized. They were selling so many kinds of souvenir that you could practically buy everything for everyone here. Even water was for sale. I had to pay 0.27 for a cup of hot water. It wasn’t a bad price. I usually received hot water for free.

F2A5527E-953A-41B5-9CF6-C1A8FA5C3E56.jpeg

I have been up since 6am this morning so I am quite exhausted. The first thing I did this morning was driving to Harris Teeter to buy ingredients so that my wife could cook and grind up food for the baby. I bought some organic chicken breasts, sweet potatoes and regular potatoes. We could have just bought the pre-made stuff from the stores in cans. However, my wife felt compelled to cook for my daughter even though we are on vacation. The joy of parenthood. It doesn’t stop when you’re on vacation. So I had to find the closest grocery store to buy these stuff. Harris Teeter was opened 24 hours per day.

CEF603CC-0452-42DC-9CB7-B1120C9EFE3D.jpeg

Good night and don’t let the bed bugs bite.

Sort:  

Peaches are delicious! I love them. Their juice, among the other fruits, is one of my favorites, and it is also great in yoghurt.

By the way, what a long road, dear. Greetings!

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post: https://steemit.com/wecurate/@worksinsane/we-curate-9

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15