Ulog 18: First restaurant bill paid in bitcoins

in #ulog6 years ago

I wrote a lot about my trip at SeaWorld, but something happened and the whole thing wasn’t saved. I don’t want to re-write the whole article again.

However, I do want to write about another experience. I paid my first restaurant bill with bitcoins and I even received a discount for it.

My friend wanted to eat out. Normally I would have said no because it was late. We were going out at 8pm and I knew my kids wouldn’t do well eating that late. Secondly, it was Korean BBQ so it would take a long time to eat. I would have been just as happy eating pho. And lastly my wife wanted to go back to the hotel so that she can finish up her chart before we leave for the trip tomorrow.

I looked up and I saw the sign that read “Bitcoins accepted here. 15% discount off total bill.” So I was like “Nice!” Pay with Bitcoins and receive a discount.

image

The process of paying with bitcoins was relatively easy. The waiter first calculated he total bill and gave me an amount with the 15% discount. Then he took out a QR code from underneath the desk and asked me to send the payment to that address. I used the camera phone to take a picture of the QR code, confirmed the amount and press enter. Almost instantaneously, the screen on the waiter also confirmed the payment. The waiter and I high fived. He commented that “this is the way of the future.” And that was how I paid my first bill via bitcoins.

Good night and don’t let the bedbugs bite.

Sort:  

Glad you made it to Florida! And nice! I hope I get to pay my restaurant bills with Steem soon!

On our ride to brunch yesterday, @dhimmel spotted this Bitcoin car:
image.png

SeaWorld, an unlikely place to accept Bitcoin! Very cool. Do you remember what payment processor they were using? I wonder if they were converting to fiat using something like BitPay or whether a manager was looking to increase their Bitcoin position and was essentially buying bitcoin at a slight markup. Or perhaps is the restaurant playing the long game and HODLing?

I don’t know. Must be a big enthusiast. He gave me a 15% discount on $350 bill.

We should make a project to document crypto real life stuff. I saw a BTC atm the other day somewhere as well. Can’t say I remember where.

Yes that would be fun!

Chúc mừng @nuoctuong, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 65%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

I would have been a little frustrated with the speed of the transaction in the past. How was it? For speed, maybe i'd use eth,etc, or xrp now.

I was utterly surprised by how fast it was. I entered in the amount and pressed entered and on the other side I saw it popped up instantly.

Actually it just "recognises" that there is a transaction ongoing, it doesn't indicate that the money is already there in the restaurant's wallet. That's why it's fast. However, depending on your fee, the transaction can takes an hour or days to get into the restaurants' wallet.

Due to the fee and the time, many coins were developed to solve this problem. I have seen many stores in Korea using Cardano (ADA) for everyday transaction. Take 0.01 ADA per send and less than 5 mins for the receiver to use the coins.

Yes that must be the case. When I got home and checked, it still said “pending”.

well that's nice sir, no hassle in paying and maybe it will be in the future since easy to do transaction.

@nuoctuong, I'm interested in the same topic as you, let's spin it together. I signed on to you, I hope you'll sign up for me. Always glad to meet new people!

In nigeria, some establishment are springing up which accept both TBC and bitcoin.

What is TBC?

Have their been any issues with double spending, or is the value so low it's not worth the reputation risk?

The Billion Coin is user based.
Its not that popular.

Good, because it sounds like a ponzi scam. Sources:

There was a good Let's Talk Bitcoin episode on how to spot a scam. However, I cannot find it. Will comment below if I do. @botefarm this would be good education for you!

Congratulations @nuoctuong! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bayzora from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83