Ulog 38: Once in While

in #ulog6 years ago

Around 2pm today, I received a text from a close friend from New York City if I wanted to meet up with him and his parents for dinner in Philadelphia. I was intrigued. I asked him why. He said that he took his parents to Atlantic City and that they want to stop by Philadelphia to meet us.

I called up my wife but she didn’t pick up the phone immediately. She called me back about an hour later. We talked and I asked her if she can drive herself and the kids into the City to have dinner. Both of us know this friend well. I was his groomsman for his wedding and my wife was a bridesmaid and vice versa. In any case, wife said let’s her check with her mother first. I called back about 15 minutes later and she said that she can’t come. Vyvian doesn’t feel well and has been coughing and Mother-in-law doesn’t want to drive into the city.

So it was just me meeting up with this old friend and his family. His dad is currently on dialysis and awaiting a kidney transplant. He has been in several near death situations. Thanks God he has been able to pull out. It seems he’s able to live a normal life right now.

So as the good filial son, my friend is trying to make the best of it and accommodating his dad in enjoying life. He understands that any day could be the last day. Or it can be many years.

We met up at a Vietnamese restaurant. We ordered way too much food. My friend’s mother commented that the Vietnamese food in Philadelphia tasted much better than the Vietnamese food in New York City. New York City tends to cater its taste to the Chinese population and the taste doesn’t seem as authentic.

After we asked the wait staff to box the leftovers so that they can be taken home, I suggest that they go and eat some Che (dessert equivalence). We drove about a block and they get to try some of that.

All and all, it was a good evening. I get to play tour guide for two hours.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bayzora from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05