Ulog 56: process to improve my English

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

By design, Steemit is a blogging platform that has social features and backed by a blockchain. That much is obvious. What is not so obvious is how well educated the user base is. Also, the users come all over the globe and a significant number of them don’t speak English as the first language. Yet their writings are exceptional. I think in many cases, they exceed the writing capacity of many native speakers.

I am not a native English speaker. I came to the USA when I was a young child of approximately 8 years old. Although my speech could have been better, I believe that because I live in a Vietnamese enclave, I have an accent that I haven’t been able to get rid of. I hear it all of the time. “There are people who came to the US much later in life than you did and they have no accent. Why do you have an accent?” I really don’t know why. I can’t help it. I’ve been trying to improve my English. I try to speak without an accent. However, the more I focus on it, the more disjointed my speech patterns become. It’s such a sad situation. Maybe there is an inherent issue with me.

So then you may be brought to believe that since I live in a Vietnamese community, that my Vietnamese is great. Quite the contrary! My Vietnamese is even worse. It sucks. I can read Vietnamese. I think anyone can read Vietnamese once you learn the basic. Understanding the context of everything you read requires something else. I think I have a general understanding. Anything beyond that and I would be lost.

So my English sucks and my Vietnamese isn’t that great. That doesn’t leave me in a good spot. I need to be able to communicate effectively to work in the corporate setting (probably true everywhere as well).

Even my boss has tried to help me. He set me up with a speech coach from the Wharton School. We met a few times. She has stopped coming. Maybe she thinks that I can’t be helped.

So now I must rely on the self-help. I notice that an administrator of a discord channel has an exceptional grasp of the English language and his Vietnamese was also superb. While I may suck at a lot of things, I can spot talents and what “good” looks like. And that person looks like someone who’s is good with the written language.

I wanted to talk to him. To learn his secrets. How did he learn to write so well and so eloquently? He was humbled. I am sure he must have spent years fine-tuning his writing skills. I, on the other hand, want a short-cut. Haha. Give it to me the cliff note version. (Don’t tell my high school teacher this, but that was exactly how I read Charles Dickens’ A Tale of Two Cities - via the yellow Cliff Notes).

I think everyone who wants to be a better English writer should do this as well. Here it is. Go download and install Grammarly on every computer and mobile devices that you use to connect to the outside world with. I think it will have an immediate impact. I am still using the FREE version and it has been working great. I think I may upgrade to the PAID version because I think it will be worth it. Clear Concise writing is the foundation of achieving greatness in this Information Age.

With that, I wish you all a good night. Don't let the bedbugs bite.

image

Sort:  

Chúc mừng @nuoctuong, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 70%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

@teamvn, where are you my friend? Sometimes I see you come and leave a comment and sometimes you disappear. It's like one is trying to look for an unicorn.

There is nothing wrong with your English bro. I can understand all that you say!

If you want to improve you can do one or multiple of these:

  • regularly read good books
  • watch documentaries
  • read articles from good sources
  • listen to podcasts when you have free time (in the train, in the car, in bed ...)

When you hear or read someone phrase an idea in a different way than you but in a way that you think is better, try to use their way in a next post and make it a habit.

😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bayzora from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I too use the Grammarly Premium to check my writings. And surely, it helps to improve along the way. If you want more challenge, I suggest to write IELTS topics, you will have to put yourself to write more and more better with a wide range of topics to choose from.

What is your opinion of the premium version of grammarly? What does it do that the basic version left off? I am thinking of upgrading.

The premium version has a better suggestion in wordings and how to use better phrases. Like that:

I paid for my subscription yesterday. Anything to improve your writing is a good investment in self, wouldn't you say?

The premium version has several suggestions to use better wording and how to avoid using the same words over and over again. As it can use with my laptops, my phones, and iPads, so that I have to say, money well spent.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13