My Experience At The SparkleWritersHub Anniversary Brunch - My second Ulog entry

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I was at the Cafe Jade at Lekki yesterday for the 3rd year anniversary of the SparkleWritersHub and it was a superb event.

The Sparklewritershub is a blog that is widely known for coaching writers and helping them grow better and bigger in writing, and so it was a big honour to be part of her anniversary brunch.

As a writer, I have always felt that I'm not doing as much as I should do in honing my writing skills, and putting myself out there. And so it was a wonderful experience to be a part of this event and be among a lot of writers, editors and publishers who shared their experiences, their journey and gave a lot of advice to upcoming writers like us.

I wrote a book some years ago, I never got published and I forgot about the book. For a while now, I have been thinking of editing the book, but I've been quite reluctant; feeling like the storyline is old, the book isn't good enough and all of that.

But after attending this event, aside from learning so much, I have also resolved to pick up my manuscript and work on my book again.

Let me highlight some of the major lessons I learnt.

  • As a writer, no opportunity will fall on your laps, you have to work towards it; go out for events, meet people, approach them and offer to write for them. Don't just expect them to come meet you.

  • When you write a book, make sure the book cover design is beautiful. Forget the phrase 'don't judge a book by its cover,' because your cover gives the first impression about your book.

  • As an upcoming writer, don't reject any writing opportunity, if you are asked to write something you have never written, accept it as a challenge - it will help you learn.

  • Writing goes beyond putting things in paper, you have to find a way to market yourself and draw the attention of people to what you do.

Well, I hope these tips will be useful to you as a writer.

The SparkleWritersHub will be organizing this again next year and I hope to see you there.

@oluwadunsin
#wafrica
#africa
#greeterguild
#newbieresteemday
#Ulog

Did you enjoy reading this? Then Upvote. Resteem. Follow

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76