ULOG #7- Trying Not to be a Steem-Lone Ranger and Why i am Embracing Organic Growth of my SP!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Trying Not to be A Steem-Lone Ranger, i brought my big bro @peman in but he left again!

Evidently, Steemit is a huge community; a City or a Megalopolis of some sort. That's why we have the City Mayors, Reps, Governors, The Mobs(Spammers), Businessmen(Vote Services), Criminals(Bots), Law abiding citizens and Outlaws(Users caught with heavy Flags!)

By my illustration, if you are reading this Ulog; you must have figured out which category you belong. For many of us who are law-abiding citizens; that is, you don't spam, beg for a vote, reward-pool-raping and never plagiarise.

It takes resilient and courage to survive in the community, many have chickened out based in their first few months, while others in their first few weeks. Being a long ranger doesn't help much, especially if you don't have money to buy a truckload of vested shares(STEEM-STEEMPOWER), even if you do, merry-self voting your self is considered an abominable act; which not many Steemians really care about.

I have gone weeks and months of Lone-Ranging on Steemit, been in dozens of communities and out just to find satisfaction and solace, but I discovered none that truly have what I wanted most. When all a community talks about is Upvoting and Curations, it creeps me out. If a community is competing with another one unhealthily, I run off.

Many do not understand me and I have been tagged "Not a community man", I have been through several rift and arguments on the platform enough, I was even caught in the middle of a Whale war back then, after a couple of months on Steemit. So, I tried to bring in some people who understand me a bit, my sibling- but they were too stubborn to listen to my many and constant ranting about steemit. I won because I was successful to bring in @peman my big brother in while my immediate brother still hasn't bulge!

Painfully some of my old colleagues at work, old friends and classmates that i have tried bringing in into the Steem party never came, those that came chickened out very early- say in their first few weeks.

Gif from Giphy

I got tired and discouraged, as the lonely ride is a boring and excruciating one, People that I have banked on to form my own little Steem-league bailing out on me, it was painful to the marrows!

GROWING MY SP ORGANICALLY

A wise Steemian once told me that;

"The Only way to value and appreciate your Steem Power is by Growing it organically"

Then I was still a semi-steem Noob, so I try to catch up on what that meant on my own, so it took me almost 7 months to get to 1000Steem Power!

The urge to always cash out is there, but the ability to remain calm and HODL is for the Gifted and not the strongest, so I kept using all my earnings from Contest and publishing for other pages to by little amount of steem, powering up 70% and saving 30% for cash out and caring for my needs.

Then when i hit my 2000SP mark, and linear reward curve was removed before then; I was sad that I haven't gathered much before then. Always tempted to commit several "Steemicide"- Then that voice of Terry always flooding back saying;

Look Beyond the Rewards andd Earnings my Brother...That always hold my fort!

image.png



Check out some of my latest amateur writing below. I appreciate all the support I have gotten from you all!

OPERATION BACKYARD BRAWL- UNCOVERING CHILD TRAFFICKING(AN AGGRAVATED CPS)-A TALE OF SINISTER VS EVIL!

MY STEEM MUSING- WHERE DOES THE FUNDAMENTAL VALUE OF STEEM COMES FROM?

Liquefied Natural Gas- Another Fossil fuel The World can't live without!

THE EARTH IS THE LORD'S NOT OF REPTILIANS- An Original Poetry in Verses!

Nigeria- The first African Nation to Open Doors to ultra-secret British scientific service in human cloning!

THAT AWKWARD MOMENT #36 - "THE WISDOM IN GREY HAIR/OLD AGE"



FOLLOW-UPVOTE-RESTEEM AND MAYBE DROP A SUPPORTING OR CONTRARY COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Badge courtesy of @jodi.pamungka Animated Footer by @rituparnaghos.

image.png

CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE TO VOTE STEEMGIGS AS WITNESS OR TO SET UP @surpassinggoggle AS A PROXY TO VOTE

Sort:  

I have gone weeks and months of Lone-Ranging on Steemit, been in dozens of communities and out just to find satisfaction and solace, but I discovered none that truly I have what I wanted most.

Lone ranging isn't ideal in this space, I must say ,as I'm a living evidence of it. Catching up with community chats and tasks always seem daunting to me. Yet, participating in community activities is what brings out one's value as a steemian.

I agree some are not the "community" kinda people as they most times find solace in their own company and space. What can those ones do other than buy large into steem power. And now where is the money??. Don't blame them if they quit. It's because they cannot "lick ass".

Not that I advise they can (lick ass) ooo. Obviously I have never, judging from what my username is. I hope whales don't "lemmybe" anymore. make I reach even 500 sp..lol.

1000 SP in seven months!!!. Wow, you are the real MVP..
I know it's quite eaSy then when we started with exactly Equal proportion of sp and sbd in payout and the wise ones powered up. Not now when steem is scarce to get. Still easy to get now anyway before the bull run

Well, i wish i had come to know Steemit in 2016, it was way much easier then than last year...

and 7months to me was too long to gather 1000SP, have seen users who did that in a month or two, but like i said; Organic growth of SP interest me alot.

Yeah, right...I'll like to put my hat in the ring of organic growth too. Any hack?

I'll say do that which you find easy to blog about, consistently say twice a day. Just my cue in my first 6 months.

What a post! Thanks for this content sir, I observed to grow sp is not a easy task now. It’s not encouraging at all to update blog nowadays at times. Although my case a winners never quit. No retreat no surrender. Thank you so much sir, Eku atijo

Yes, brother, harder than before but achievable...

Ojo kan pelu!

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Wow, you achieved 1000sp in 7 months! How did you do it? I would love to know the secret. Good contents are hardly upvoted nowadays. Mostly if you rep or sp is still low. I've been on steemit for close to a month and half now and it has not been easy at all. How can I achieve say 500sp in 7 months? Please respond!

His story cannot be your...."life is like school, everybody has his own exam paper"
What worked for him might not work for you...just keep on doing your best, socialize with people, drop nice comment on people post and fix yourself to a community.....
It may take long to be establish here but it's worth waiting.....

What you said is very true, but sometimes, we can also learn from his experience. Not that i want to follow exactly what he did to succeed, just want to use it as a guide. For the short time I've been here, I've done over 400 comments : not just meaningless comments that has no relationship with the post, but good ones, yet it has not been easy. Most people hardly upvote ones post once they discovered that you can't reciprocate the gesture because your sp is still on ground level. So if he could highlight one or two things he did that I'm not doing, it may help. Thanks for your response

First, enter as much legit contest as possible as well as you focus on Blogging on daily basis or even twice or trice with a minimum of 5hrs in between. Secondly, have a mindset not to cash out all your earnings; or set a percentage to cash out and to power your account.

Also, drop nice comments like this, they earn you rewards too, if you are a general writer, make sure you do deep research on your articles before publishing.

Make friends too, and join healthy communities.

You have said it all....oya @resuscitate follow this tips from our senior.....
Wishing you success....

Lol..... thanks en!

Thank you very much. I greatly appreciate your response. I'm already doing the commenting stuff. Maybe i should start contesting more on the various weekly contests. they few contests i participated in previously, i didn't win anything, so i thought they were only picking people that are already in their community and i stopped going to the contest section . Thanks for this info

@steem-lagos weekly giveaway of 500SP is free for all, not a community base contest my friend.

I just followed him now. I'll start looking out for it every week. Thanks. It's really good to ask questions sometimes o!

Nice story/experience......despite all odds....look at you now.....you are doing good for yourself and others.....the beginning is always rough, but if one perserver.....he will overcome....
Many don't even understand "do not despite the days of small beginning"
What makes one a failure is giving-up before due time.....
Am happy for you my friend....and i hope that soon i will testify like you did... Enjoy....and higher you go i pray ....

You got a tip for this one, my friend, thanks for having my back!

You are the best joor.....i haven't meet you personally but i always feel free with you....you will never miss your type in this life......more SBD and STEEM in your wallet!

Thanks for sharing. I can so relate with some of the things you said.

At a point, I gave up and went off for weeks.
Then, I came back and stumbled on post that talked about adding value on steemit and not being conscious of the money.
I revived my spirit to stay and keep pushing till I succeed here.

I know enjoy the learning process. There are wonderful steemians here to learn from ranging from topics on finance,
relationship,education,health, food
literature, christianity, parenthood and so on.

Wow ,now I have found another steemian that inspires me in addition to @surpassinggoogle.

Thank you for helping minnows like me with the @steem-lagos delegation contest. More success and sp to you!

This post really impressed me, Egbon keep moving, keep soaring, God gat your back... @sola3097

Thanks for reading...

To survive in the world, we need each other. Steemit is no different. Keep growing my friend. Cheers.

Many thanks buddie, appreciate all your suppprts mate😎

Good to see read this piece. Anyway, being a lone ranger on steemit is a double edge thing. Some grew by belonging to a community, others by doing their thing themselves and figuring things out on their own. I started out belonging to a community and thereafter started making my own way, up till now. I definitely belong to communities and contribute when I can. However, this platform is not designed for solitude, we need each other.

7 months to get to 1000Steem Power!

It will be more than that with the recent development for new people joining and who wants to grow SP organically.

Bringing people to this platfrom is less work than keeping them. Many just cant cope.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31