#Ulog (Day 4): I Was Scammed Today | I'm Still Reeling in Shock

in #ulog6 years ago

1503631_10152584957517677_3868982114142832262_n.jpg

Okay, I've always prided myself on being above scam artists, being a Nigerian born and bred. I felt I had it all covered; knew allll their gimmicks soq couldn't fall a victim, but today I was proven wrong.

So.....I contacted a guy about some paypal funds I needed to sell. I'd never met him prior to this time. Normally when doing business with people, I usually work based on referrals. This time however, I'm currently working on a project and so was distracted.

Emy2.jpg

I reached out to the guy yesterday and he asked to send the funds. Without thinking twice, I did. As soon as I got a confirmation the funds had left my account, I quickly contacted the guy on whatsapp to intimate him on the develop, alas, he had gone silent.

This happened yester night. I instantly became scared, knowing there was a 50/50 chance my funds was gone.

IMG_20180507_213457_304.JPG

I reached out to him again this morning and again received silence. After several hours, he came online and asked me to send screenshots of the transaction which I quickly did. I sent pages of the transaction, with one detailing clearly the transaction ID and his name as recipient.

After sending, I noticed he went silent again. Now at this point, I think it dawned on me I was at his mercy and he could decide not to send me the money if he so desired. So I knew I had to play it cool.

IMG_20180507_213443_122.JPG

I put a call through to him and he picked after the third try. I proceeded to ask him if he saw the screenshots I sent to which he replied in the affirmative.

I was happy, at least now he would send my funds.

However, he dashed my hopes by saying even though the screenshots showed payments, there wasn't any noticeable increase in his Paypal balance.

"Besides, that report could have been doctored. There's a lot that can be done with photoshop these days." Was what he said.

I spent the next five minutes painstakingly trying to convince him the screenshot wasn't, even went as far as sending another sent by paypal itself, but he had gone silent again.

It's been two hours since he last replied and 24 hours since I sent the funds and I think I'm gradually coming to accept I just got scammed. And although the funds isn't much, just $23, I still feel quite pained I could fall so easily for such a cheap scammer and lose funds I worked for.

Sort:  

I think you should report him to PayPal for offering a service (whatever that was) he didn't provide and scammed you. They might help you.
Take a look at the PayPal site what you can do about it.
Besides, as far as I know, PayPal may block his funds upon such report.

Wow, for real? Didnt know such an option was available. I'll look into doing that. Thanks for letting me know.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 2.18$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

It's times like these to learn from mistakes and turn a negative experience into a positive dendritic connection in your brain. I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts!

Yea, I definitely learnt from this one. I'll the more careful henceforth and carry out due delligence, especially when money is involved.

I am so sorry about this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43