#Ulog No 7 | To Give or Not To Give?

in #ulog6 years ago

hand-1549399_1280.jpg
Source

I am one to give. I believe so much in it, not just because of the blessings that come with giving, but because you are actually putting a smile of the face of someone in dire need.

Here's My Ulog for Today

So today, I closed from my shop as usual and got home. I hadn't quite settled in when one of my neighbours came knocking. She announced there was a lady looking for me and no, she didn't know her name.

Curious, I left my daughter with my mom who came visiting and went to see who it was. It was a lady I'd never met. My curiosity deepened, but I wore a polite smile as I approached her, after ascertaining she wasn't dangerous. Lol.

On seeing me, she immediately became demure, smiled a little and went into a story.

She was a mom of three kids who, until 30 minutes ago, was expecting a transfer from her husband located in another state. Her trip to he ATM disappointed her and so she had to seek alternatives. She had kids at home hungry and relying on her to bring back foodstuff. She begged me for foodstuff if I had any.

Being a mother, I got hooked when she mentioned her kids were hungry. Sadly, I was fresh out of foodstuff and had been posting my trip to the market. Luckily though, I had some money a customer just paid so I told her to give me a few minutes.

https://pixabay.com/en/apples-business-buy-deal-1841132/
Soure

Inside, my mom was sceptical about the whole story. She said such women abound and go about begging gullible people for money. It was a profession to a lot of them and she was right. I had seen a few myself.

She also opened my eyes to the spiritual aspect where people take money from you and use that as a medium to harm you and in turn advance themselves. Its an act very popular in my country Nigeria. Its called money rituals.

I instantly became divided. A part of me desperately wanted to help the mom in need but the other was scared for my safety. Lol

In the end, I decided to damn all fears and do what my heart said. I did and I'm glad for it.

She may be a scam and a layabout or she may truly be in need. And I would feel really bad, if I let those innocent kids go hungry when it was within my capabilities to help.

This is my diary/ ulog for today and I'm glad for this medium to air my mind. Thanks to @surpassinggoogle for this opportunity.

Sort:  

What a nice gesture on your part, it is true that there are many people who do things with a double intention, but it is better to give, help in these cases and thus free our consciences, maybe that person really needed it and that day was the first time who came in that way. God rewards all this and knows that he did it in a good way, and that nothing bad will happen to him because he acted in a good way.

Yes, you are right and this was my thought exactly. I have been in a situation of lack before and I know exactly how it feels.

I also know the pain of watching your kids suffer. That's one of the hardest things for a mother and most would rather do the unthinkable (in this case beg) than allow it happen.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and for commenting.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by paigegirl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your post has been upvoted by @steemiansarens trail. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16