May 14, 2018 - #ulog 2 week2 - Barangay Election Day

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Well today is Election day in the Philippines, not for the President or Senators but this is for the Barangays, like for suburbans or small areas within the city. Co the Mayors and Governors are voted when the Presidential elections comes. Like small towns or areas. A barangay Captain or Punong Barangay is the head and he has 7 councilors or Kagawads. Campaigning started May-12, 2018.

My Barangay is small approximately 350+ voters only. Most are the elderly because some younger ones have not registered yet and a lot are abroad. But I only registered last year during the Presidential election because I wanted to vote for Duterte which I am happy he won (Please no bashers we all have are own opinion).

So now I could vote in our barangay. People were telling me to join or run for the Barangay Captain but I said I was too old maybe a kagawad but I don't want to ruin my quiet lifestyle. heheh. I was not really interested until I found out my younger brother's close friend and also a good friend of mine was running for the BC (Barangay Captain) against the recent one. The one we have was actually a Kagawad but when our BC won as a Councillor for the town the #1 Kagawad took his place. But then she had to give it up because she travels a lot and is staying in New Zealand with her daughter. So the BC was the #2 Kagawad. Nothing against her but she is older and I did not see much improvement.

So I decided to help Nestor and his line-up which also had my helper's husband Jay in the line-up. I think he would do good, he has been the barangay Tanod and the head for a few years now. Also the line up consists of younger people and a diversity of background. They have a retired govt official(Ange), a Tanod(jay), A carpenter/fishball vendor(Joseph), a female secretarial/hrm graduate(Vicky) good in paperwork young too and a young man/woman(Candy). Good in make-up, decorations and events. They only had 5 in their list of Kagawads but they entered another independent in their list. A tomboy but hard working and has a lot of experience in lots of work. The BC is in his mid 50's an electrical graduate and a former Kagawad.

30826096_1870215649718484_363451051_o.jpg
These are the ones I voted. Only Nelly (the tomboy but very nice) is not in the picture. We are hoping they win straight. We all helped campaign but no buying of votes haha we are not rich but We helped with the posters and leaflets to be given. They look serious because these were there COC pictures.

Well I did not have to be early so I went to the school where the voting will be. There were only a few at around 9am. But I saw friends and cousins. They were teasing me and said that they voted me as number 1. Hahaha.

32452361_10156066183005280_4621471053439303680_n.jpg
The catholic school were the voting took place just close by.

32349324_10156066182410280_8380438731684839424_n.jpg
Just a few standing outside waiting for their turn or just waiting for their companions still voting.

32478920_10156066182835280_3327110705202593792_n.jpg
Done with my public duty or obligation. Thumb mark and the dreaded ink on the fingernails. Good thing I will have a manicure tomorrow. Might lessen the ink mark. It is supposed to be indelible ink. We will know by this afternoon who wins, not much voters to count. Hoping my choices wins. Especially Jay and Nestor. Why not straight? lol
The rest of the day will be fore relaxing and waiting. It is a special holiday so no work or classes. Some will be nervous but we can only hope and pray for success.

PICTURES ARE MINE

Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group #SteemitDiversify and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Others that we should support are: @henry-gant, @kenny-crane, @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @jerrybanfield, @darthnava, @paradise-found, @geetharao, @stephenkendal and @richq11; they also have supported us; also the many others who have visited My posts. Pls. support them too. Thank you very much I am grateful for them and for everyone who has helped me and my friends. (Quote made by @purpledaisy57 permission given to use for members of SD family)
Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:
https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens
Please like the Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/steemgigs/
& Twitter: https://twitter.com/steemgigs
PLEASE SUPPORT: https://steemgigs.org

31947237_1885140124892703_6524815806713298944_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congrats to all the winners!

Best of luck sa mananalo!
Sana yung karapat dapat talaga 👌

Goodluck to your candidates maam.,

hope your helper will win mam:)

The last time I vote was my father running for a town board member. He served 3 terms. :)

Weee! Congrats sa mga bet mo mam! ehehehe!

Good for you mam Daisy you were able to exercise your rights. Me, I wasn't able to vote today 😢

Congrats that election ended peacefully in your baranggay ma'am.

yehey 5 out 6 of my candidates won

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11