ULOG 126 - More flowers in the garden

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: ULOG 126 - More flowers in the garden


ULOG 126 - More flowers in the garden

It's been horribly hot today, over 34 C where I am in Wyoming, NSW. I stayed indoor most of the day but got out early to water the garden before the heat.

The plants are now starting to regain vigour as the big rains have passed. Flowers are blooming everywhere. Here are some of them.

Elderflower

I bought this Eldertree a while back in the hope of harvesting the flowers to make some cordial but to our bad surprise the flowers don't have any scent at all. Then I realised I'm not the only one to notice that in Australia. Then the seller told me the plant needed a very cold winter. Oh well...

IMG_7892.JPG

I'm not sure about the name of this tree (maybe a sort of Ficus) but every year when it blooms, heaps of bees are buzzing noisily around the flowers. So we always try to trim it very lightly.

Sage purple flowers

I like purple flowers as I find them to contrast with the green foliage. These are flowers from my Sage. They remind me of the flowers from basil.

Dog Bane flowers

The Dog Bane despite its pungent smell has very cute flowers. This one has started to open from the bottom up. It is said that dogs and cats are repelled by the smell but I didn't observed that and neighbours pets are still taking our backyard as a toilet... The smell of the Dog Bane only comes out when I rub the leaves or water them.

Princess Lavender flowers

The Princess Lavenders are much healthier than last year when I first planted them. I guess they have adapted to their new environment.

Aloe Vera flowers

Here is a new photo of the Aloe Vera, the bottom flowers are now opened.

Treasure Flower

I bought this Treasure Flower because it has nice silver leaves with bright yellow flowers. I have planned to use it as ground cover on the side as the alley at the entrance of our garden. It has started to overtake the area and I'm helping it by removing the weeds that managed to get through. Hopefully this season will see the whole patch covered with it.

False Freesia

I discovered the False Freesia on our front lawn. Every year they grow through the lawn and it always break my heart to mow over them because they are very cute. So one day I decided to dig them up to plant them somewhere else and discovered they have a little bulb deep down in the ground. The bulb stays alive all year round. I've planted them a little bit around the house.

Orange Jasmine flower

This is one Orange Jasmine flower. We have a wall made of 4 or 5 of those evergreens. When they are all covered with white flowers, the garden smells very nice.

Star Jasmine flowers

And this is a Star Jasmine. Our summer smells beautifully thanks to them but they can be an absolute pain in the bum because they are climbing plant and if you don't control them yearly they will get on top of everything! Last year I had to get on the roof on the house because they climbed and wrapped around the TV antenna!

Brunfelsia Brasiliensis

This plant is one of those that always makes me curious because the same plant will have flower in two different colors! I've read that some varieties even have three different colors on the same tree.

Carrot flower

Do you know what flower this is?

Carrot flower

It's a carrot flower! Well, it hasn't opened yet, so I guess it's not technically the flower. The actual flowers are white and you could see them still young in the second photo. More photos of them to come soon.


Previously on my Ulog:


Vote for my witness
On Steem, Witnesses are playing the important role of providing a performant and safe network for all of us. You have the power to choose 30 trusty witnesses to package transactions and sign the blocks that will go in the Steem blockchain. Vote for me via SteemConnect to help me do more useful projects for the communities.


I'm a member ofthese communities
Team Australia BannerTeam Vietnam banner
Steemit French community bannerHomesteaders Online
Member of the SmartVote communityMinnow Support Project
Earth Tribe@quochuy ulogger on steemit.com

Credits

  • The image at the top has been generated with the Canva app using my own photo.

Protect your money against Phishing Scam!

Cryptos accounts are the target of international scammers because they want your hard earned money!

Those people are very clever and in a moment of inattention, you've given them your login and password!

I've created a Chrome extension that can help you detecting scam links!

Install Steemed Phish Chrome desktop browser extension now!

Password and Private Keys security

You all know that your Steem password is the access to all your STEEM, SBD, posting, transferring, everything... right?
So, please, follow these simple steps and keep yourself safe:

  1. Apart from the initial setup of your account, NEVER use your password ANYWHERE, if stolen, it will give full control to your Steem account.
  2. Backup your password and keep it somewhere safe. Use a password manager like Lastpass, print it on paper and put it in a safe (no kidding). If you forget your password, no one can help you out.
  3. To login for creating content and curating, use your Private Posting Key
  4. To make transfers and account operations, use your Private Active Key
  5. To encrypt and decrypt memos, use your Private Memo Key
Sort:  

Beautiful photos <3 I love these flowers, very much :D

Thank you 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

oooh.. nice pictures.. reminds me of my mom's place.. she has all sorts of flowers all over her place .. not sure about what the tree could be but it's certainly not a Ficus :P .. we had Ficus tree's all around the neighborhood I grew up in .. even the street was named Ficus hehehe...

I had no idea carrot plants had flowers :D ! never saw one! .. you always learn something new :)

I’m still trying to identify that tree in a plant ID group, still no luck yet.

I didn’t know they had flowers too the carrots, until they flowered in my garden lol. This is the first year I’m growing them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, you can add the Natural Medicine banner now too!!! Yay!!! I might have to match this post with my own flower ramble today! You must get onto the native elder.. the scent is so strong!!! I don't have the star Jasmine but I have the ordinary one... it's sooo reminiscent of spring and summer here.

It was sooo hot and windy here yesterday... I couldn't even bear to go outside.

Posted using Partiko Android

Where can I find the banner?

So the native elder is another species?

Today’s temps are up high too. Went to my nephew’s birthday party, it was outdoor and even under the covered area it was like hell.

Posted using Partiko iOS


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 209 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Chúc mừng @quochuy, bạn đã nhận được một upvote 40%. Tôi là con bot của cộng đồng Việt Nam trên Steemit. Tôi được tạo ra bởi nhân chứng @quochuy và được uỷ quyền, tín nhiệm bởi các thành viên Việt Nam, hôm nay tôi vote cho bài của bạn để ủng hộ bạn. Tôi hi vọng sẽ được thấy nhiều bài viết hay từ bạn.

Chúc bạn vui vẻ, và hẹn gặp lại một ngày gần đây.

Hi, @quochuy!

You just got a 0.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by QuocHuy [witness] from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @quochuy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.783 which ranks you at #396 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 403).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 219 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15