ULOG #20 - Stuffed Butternut Squash

in #ulog5 years ago

Stuffed Butternut Squash

cooked_2.jpg

Stuffed squash is one of my faves! It's fairly easy to prepare, although it does take a bit of time to cook. This is what I made for dinner last night.

I started out with a medium sized butternut squash, which I cut in half lengthwise and removed the seeds.

squash_1.jpg

squash_2.jpg

I then wrapped each half in aluminum foil with about a tablespoon of water and baked them for 45 minutes at 375F.

squash_3.jpg

Meanwhile, I put together the stuffing.

For the stuffing I used:


1 lb ground pork
1 shallot minced
1 can diced tomatoes
1/2 cup panko crumbs
1 cup sharp cheddar shredded
tumeric
sumac
salt

I browned the pork in a medium skillet

meat.jpg

I minced the shallot and added it to the skillet.

shallot.jpg

Once the meat was browned and the shallot was transparent, I added the tomatoes.

tomatoes.jpg

I added the spices and let everything simmer for awhile.

stuffing.jpg

When the squash was done. I removed it from the oven and let it cool down a bit.

I transferred the meat into a large mixing bowl then added the panko and cheese.

stuffing_2.jpg

When the squash cooled down I scooped out the flesh and added it to the mixing bowl. Taking care not to tear the squash skin.

squash_4.jpg

I gave it a good mix and scooped it all back into the skins.

filled.jpg

Then I put them into the oven and baked them for 20 minutes at 350F

cooked.jpg

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Enjoy!

Roger

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Wow what an awesome recipe! Looks like a great mix of delicious and nutritious. I can picture a vegetarian variation that would work for my little veggie as well.

I am going to have to give it a try. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for your comments! Soyrizos would work well in this!

Hey there buddy just visiting your kitchen. I wish I could just drop by and help myself with some your good food. That looks delicious but we do not have butternut squash here in our country.

You could use a different variety of squash like acorn or pumpkin, if you could get those there. You are a very creative chef. I'm sure you can find something that is delicious! Thanks for your comments!

That looks very nyummi @rwedegis. I love squashes and love to cook as well. Wish you enjoy it and have a good time. #steemitbloggers

Thank you for your comments!

I am definitely gonna try this @rwedegis

Thank you for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22