ULOG #6: About Hospitals And SteemMonsters

in #ulog6 years ago

Today's main themes were hospitals and SteemMonsters. To find out what they've got to do with each other, you've got to read...

hospitals and steemmonsters.jpg

It's Getting Old

So, here I am... again. At the parking lot of the hospital, waiting till it's time for yet another doctor's appointment. An important one. Last Friday, I came here for another series of scans of my back. Now I'm here to discuss the results with the doctor. Is it a herniated disk again? And if not, what else is wrong?

In a couple of minutes, I'll be leaving the safe haven of my car, will pass the registration desk and take a seat in the waiting room. From personal experience, I learned that there's a big chance it'll take another hour before it is my turn.

That's one of the reasons I wait in the car as long as possible: in the waiting room for people with back problems, they have the most uncomfortable chairs you can imagine.

hospital chairs.jpg

I mean, didn't they think it through before they placed them there, or is it some sick kind of humor? I don't know which one I would prefer....

In my car, I can at least smoke a cigarette and listen to some of my favorite psytrance tracks while waiting...

Nervous

I admit I am nervous as hell. That's one of the annoying habits I have: I'm a 'glass half empty' kind of person. No matter which situation I'm in, I always imagine and prepare for the worst possible outcome.

(...)

Meanwhile, I'm upstairs, in a crowded waiting room. Walking my way up here, I couldn't help thinking that no matter how hard they tried to make this place beautiful, they haven't been able to hide it is still a hospital.

hospital.jpg

At the entrance is a square with artificial 'ponds' where ducks swim. They have tried to create a positive vibe by giving the benches, a side of one of the buildings and a useless wall in the middle of the square a colorful, psychedelic look. Nice try... but I'm not comforted at all.

psychedelic.jpg

Homework

To take my mind off the very uncomfortable seat I'm in and of course the doctor's verdict, I guess I'll better spend the next hour or so doing the homework my coach @davemccoy gave me.

The @steemmonsters tournaments start this weekend, and I still don't have a single clue about how it will work.

It's not that I haven't tried... I've read plenty of tutorials, but every time again, somewhere along the way, my brain seems to shut down. It's like it's not able to process information about card stats and battle tactics. Maybe it's an internal defense system against my 'talent' to get addicted to something instantly, lol.

My skills at this moment are limited to choosing a team, solely based on manna.

Don't laugh, I guess the @steemmonsters part of my brain is just underdeveloped, or may be damaged by all the partying I did. Same goes for the part that's in charge of remembering where I've parked your car...

Still, I want to make Dave proud, so I'm going to study like I never studied before.

(...)

Very unexpectedly, I was called into the doctor's office before I could take another look at Dave's tutorials. Now I can go home and study lying on my comfy bed.

Oh, by the way, the back was relatively OK. No sign of a herniated disk, but the lower part of my back is so worn out that I'll probably won't get rid of the pain I have now. It's uncomfortable, but I guess I can live with uncomfortable.


The bad news is that they discovered something else on the scans, related to my digestive system. So, next Friday I'll be here again to get more tests done...


How can I ever expect to get fit enough to join a battle... ?


 

simplymike


Signature created with The Logo Creator 7


Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter

 

More Posts You Might Like:

 
steemitbloggers

Join us @steemitbloggers Animation By @zord189
 

dunite



This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

This post has been revived by steem-forever!

I have not heard of The @steemmonsters tournaments and how it works, but I guess you will be fine since you can do the battle lying down in your bed??!! I don't know...

Anyway, glad your back is OK, be positive of next week appointment, sending healing and positive vibe to you.

Thanks for the vibes. They are more than welcome - I can definitelh use them for the moment

That's the least I can do, my partner had slipped disc as well a few years back, so I know the agony of it. Cheers!

Hahaha I think right now almost all of us have undeveloped steemmonsters brain parts; hopefully that will change in the coming weeks 😉 wish you a good recovery for that back; if you can, try acupuncture. Solved a good deal of my articular problems that way!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. Accupuncgure was one of the many things I tried before my surgeries. Unfortynately, without any success

Sorry to hear that. Get well soon! See it on the bright side... you don't need good back health to play steemmonsters! ;)

That's true. It's about the only thing you don't need a good back for, lol

I'm sorry, Mike! Hospitals aren't really fun to begin with. Everyone there would rather be somewhere else. That's crazy they have such horrible chairs in a back doctor's office. It seems like he's just trying to create or keep patients who come in by giving them worse backs.

I don't know how the Steem Monsters system will work either. That's been one thing I wished they had done differently. Rather than only letting people test the game who have enough money to buy the good cards, let everyone try it. Those who are buying the good cards are already likely to win. Why also give them the advantage of a month+ of extra practice time. I've seen videos and such, but I still don't know how to create my team or what will be a good team.

I think SM could be cool, but if the lower-end people aren't able to have fun and keep playing the game, then it's just going to be the few elites still going at it. That's not much of a market. I'm not sure the technical details behind allowing people to play, but it doesn't seem like it would be that much of a stretch to let people at least try it out! Maybe even create some bots to play against so people can practice. If we only get one game per day, we're going to want to make it count, even if we don't have the Steem to buy 1,000 packs.

See, like you, I can imagine worse situations. :P Nah, I'm still excited for SM, just not expecting to do well.

Dave is giving me a crash course. I've studied his tutorial posts today, and I do get some of the basics. Strategy wise, I'm still completely in the dark. And it didn't help that I got to see a demo game.... that only made things more confusing.

I completely agree with the fact that everyone shoulld be able to play tryouts. I guess it will become a lot more clear once you've played s couple of games...

Not good Mike!
Keep the faith. For also a half empty glass person!
Cheers,
Peter

Thanks, Peter. I'm trying the best I can...

Those chairs! The entire hospital room looked like a painfully difficult obstacle course. Almost like they are trying to injure people, and use the hospital fee to cover any legal costs later if necessary.

I completely agree. They probably did it on purpose so they could stay in business ;0)

You got voted by @votefun thanks to simplymike. To support development, check out Rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to simplymike! This bot is managed by Kiwibot and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive maximum rewards, you must be a member of KiwiBot. To receive free upvotes for yourself (even if you are not a member) you can join the KiwiBot Discord linked here and use the command !upvote (post name) in #curationkiwi.

Great news the tourneys are starting this weekend. Guess I had better study up, too since I have no clue even how to put together a team. haha

Ugh! on the hospital visit(s)...
Good vibes sent in your direction! :D

Dave is giving me a crash course. If he manages to make it clear to me, I'll be sure to share all I know - in the most easy way possible

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 73.38% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05