MY VERY FIRST ULOG: My day on site with hardworking Nigerians

in #ulog6 years ago

IMG_20180507_145918.jpg

I am extremely glad to join this ulog challenge initiated by my very good steemit friend @surpassinggoogle. I got to learn that ulog is all about YOU. Making yourself a celebrity by sharing your daily life activities with the rest of the world in a bid to let others know what you are up to each and every day.

I haven’t had the time to post mine because of my busy schedule but I promised @surpassinggogle that I would be making my entry soon irrespective of my very busy schedule. What are friends for if I can’t make out time to support his movement.

I thought about what I could possibly post today and suddenly I got the light bulb. I work on a construction site, why don’t I use this opportunity to show the world, through pictures and videos, what working on a construction site in Nigeria could look like.

Few weeks back, our dear president painted a picture of Lazy Nigerian Youths to the world and I am here to tell you that Nigerian youths are one of the most hardworking set of people on planet earth as I have seen on my construction site.

These young men and a woman come to work every single day very early to look for what they could do to make ends meet. They agree to anything you tell them to do provided you will pay as soon as they are done. They work with so much excitement and enthusiasm that you would wonder how much they actually make to be that happy with what they do.

Some of them are married and have kids who they have put in various schools and must have to cater for their needs.

Most times, it isn’t easy working with them as they can be very stubborn, especially when they get hungry and still need to keep working. I don’t get surprised, afterall they say that a hungry man is an angry man. So what I do is look for ways to appease them and make them happy, maybe by telling them jokes and funny stories while they work or just get them food when I have the funds to do so.

Today I will be showing you pictures of some of my site workers and will also be telling you a little about them

Let’s start with the only woman among my site workers.

Meet madam Mariam.

IMG_20180507_150057.jpg

IMG_20180507_145706.jpg

IMG_20180507_145648.jpg

She’s is an epitome of a hard working and strong woman. You all might not understand what it means to work on a construction site with young Nigerian men. She’s had to endure a lot being the only woman on the site and never lets whatever happens on site get to her. She is always cheerful and happy.

She’s a mother of three beautiful young girls who she has been able to send to school from doing this on site as seen in the picture above.

Did I forget to also mention that she is a widow? She’s had to single handedly train her kids through school and I am sure the kids are proud of their mother and will forever be grateful to God for giving them such a wonderful mother.

Meet Bobo

IMG_20180507_145952.jpg

Hehehehe, I know you would be wondering what kind of name that is. Well, here in Nigeria, most of the site workers give themselves funny nick names so as to be identified by their co-workers easily.

Bobo is a brick layer and he has been doing this for a very long time now. He left his parent’s home at a young age to fend for himself when he realised his parents no longer had the capacity to take care of him alongside 8 of his other siblings.

He is a very funny guy but keeps to himself sometimes.

Meet Blessing

IMG_20180507_150116.jpg

IMG_20180507_145748.jpg

I have always known Blessing to be a name associated with the female folks but was surprised to learn that his name was Blessing.

Blessing is also a very hard working young man who loves what he does. If you take a good look at the picture above, you will notice that his leg is bandaged at the ankle area. This is because of the cut he sustained while he was working some days back. He mistakenly cut himself with a shovel while trying to pack some cement mortar from the ground.

He is a brick layer but couldn’t do his brick laying job, which obviously pays more, today but because he didn’t want to stay idle, he asked for what he could do even with his injury and we asked him to clear the first floor of debris and he agreed to do it.

IMG_20180507_145717.jpg

I hope he gets well soon.

Meet Mr Quadri

IMG_20180507_151354.jpg

One of the things I like about this guy is his name. his name is so unique to me because I have never heard a name like that before until I came to this site.

Quadric is actually our foreman. He controls and organises other brick layers. He puts them in check and tells them what to do. He is also a brick layer and more like our eye on site for when we are not around, probably on weekends.

He is a very hard working guy. He has no wife or kids and so has all the time in the world for parties and the likes. He is a cool guy and we are very comfortable having him around.

Meet Godday

IMG_20180507_151354 - Copy.jpg

Funny name right? It is pronounced GOD-DAY. I don’t really have much to say about this young man but first of all, sorry I didn’t get a shot of his face. He actually requested that I don’t take a snap shot of his face on the pretence of him being camera shy but I knew he was just being security conscious and so I didn’t have to press further.

Godday comes just once in a while to work for us and so I can’t really say what he is or not capable of.

He is also a brick layer and one thing I can tell you about Gidday is that he is very good at what he does. He is very fast and accurate with block laying and this is actually the reason why he only comes around once in a while to work for us. He gets jobs from other contractors and individuals and so is a very busy man. The sky is the starting point for this young man.

Meet Mr Lekan

IMG_20180507_144518.jpg

I call him my expert. He is a very intelligent young man and our Electrical technician. He is the person we contracted to do the Electrical piping and wiring.

From the picture above, we can see him marking the points for the Electrical switches and sockets. He is very calculative and does what he does with so much enthusiasm.

I am also an Electrical Engineer but basically all I know is theory so I have been able to gain a lot of practical knowledge from this young man and he has been doing a great job with his on-site tutorials.

Finally meet Adeola, my site partner.

IMG_20180507_150553.jpg

This is one very tough girl I have come to know. We work for the same organisation and she has been a great partner. She is a Quantity surveyor and a professional in what she does.

I call her tough because she can single handedly control all the workers in site and doesn’t care for the fact that she is a lady. Workers on site give her so much respect and irrespective of her tough nature, workers still love her and always miss her whenever she isn’t on site.

She has a killer smile that can awaken the dead and this could be the reason why she is being loved by many.

I hope you enjoyed reading about my day on site. I hope you keep in touch for further ulogs by me.

IMG_20180507_150029.jpg

STEEM ON…
Sort:  

@sistem this is so inspiring! thank you for sharing this. I guess, this is also a reason why I love steemit so much: You gave me a view into a world that is still so foreign to me! Thank you man! wishing you and all the great people on your site the best.

You are really inspiring folks! Thank you!

Lolz I want to believe you are not a Nigerian. Actually, the beauty if steemit is to get to interact with people from other countries and get to know how they do their stuffs. It was fun sharing this and I am glad you love it. Thanks for stopping by

Yes, and I look forward to check in more often from now on! Really nice sharing! thanks again!
Sam

I just listen and see from news and information through cyberspace, Nigeria should have someone like you, like hard work and compact in developing your country, through this steemit you keep writing so we can also communicate, amazing program Steemit this greeting from me make your country Nigeria@sistem

That's great @sistem. I used to do all these works. I know how hard it is to do this kind of jobs. I have known your handle for couple of months but never interacted. You are doing amazing job on steemit. Wishing you every success here from India.

wow, an amazing thing you're doing there
i'm an engineering student not electrical though but mechanicqal..
i'm happy to see this
keep being good @sistem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87