My First #ulog Post: Text Scam Victim For Being Careless!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)


Photo is mine

Hi! My fellow Steemians and #uloggers! I was really glad and excited to be part of #ulog or #ulogs community and be one of the #ulogger as sir Terry @surpassinggoogle made a post about it.


I am really excited to make my first post for #ulog but I had a bad day yesterday because I was a victim of text scam.

I want to share my text scam experienced to warn others to be more careful. Even me, I thought I was smart enough to be fooled by online or text/SMS scam, but I was wrong because I was fooled by trickster by simple message.


Photo is mine: My parents

My parents both stay at home, my father already retired from his job five years ago. They only depend on my father’s monthly pension allowance and a sari-sari store business.

A sari-sari store or neighborhood sundry store is a convenience store found in the Philippines. The word sari-sari is Tagalog meaning "variety" or "sundry".


Read more about [Source] Sari-sari Store


They also sell electronic load for prepaid mobile network in their sari-sari store.

Recently, my mom always telling me that she was receiving an SMS message and saying that she earned 600 wallet points which is equivalent to 600 free load wallet or 600.00 php load or more or less $12.00 usd that you can sell to customers, and only have to do is to follow the instructions to redeem or claim the rewards. Yesterday, I was so stressed for many things and my mind was flying somewhere when my mom told me again about the sms rewards.

She told me to just follow the instructions to redeem the points, I just took the phone and followed the instructions without even reading the full message and not even seeing the sender’s name and number.


Photo is mine: That is the text/sms message we received.

I followed and dialed the instructed numbers, then suddenly I received a confirmation message from the Globe network that it was successfully transferred amount of 600.00 PHP/ $12.00 usd to that tricker’s or scammer’s mobile number!



Photo is mine: Text/sms confirmation load wallet was transferred.


I was shocked and speechless, then I read again the sms message my mom received...already late, I realized that the sender’s number was not from legit Globe Network! I was fooled and scammed.

I did not tell to my parents what happened because I do not want them to feel sad, especially my father... It will bring heartaches to them, they will feel regrets for losing that amount of money. They only get 150.00 php or $3 usd profit in 1000.00 php/ $20.00 usd. Maybe for others, $12.00 usd is nothing or just a piece of cake, but for some people like elders who still working hard...that amount is more than enough for them.

I just gave the money to my mom and told them that I transferred the load wallet to my friend. I also told them to ignore all messages that are not coming from a legit network number to avoid from any scam or tricks.

I called the network hotline but as they checked on the system, the number doesn’t exists or cannot be tracked. I was advised to call and complaint to National Telecommunications Commissions, but I did not bother to call because I know nothing will happen in case like this.

Here in Philippines, very easy to scam using mobile through text message/sms because it is very easy to buy and change sim cards anytime and anywhere as much as you like and as much as you can, even children or minors can buy a sim cards.

Sim cards are not being registered here in Philippines, unlike other countries... you cannot buy sim card if you do not have passport or International card or valid Identification required by the country to buy a simcard.

It was really a lesson learned for me... I was not fooled because I easily believed and trust others. I was fooled because of my negligence and for being careless.


Photo credits: All photos are mine

Thanks for viewing my post.

I would like to thank @iwrite for mentoring me and for his patience.
I am very blessed and thankful to have him as my mentor. I would like to thank also, ma’am Daisy @purpledaisy57 for the guidance and being supportive.

Thanks and more power to Steemit Diversify Team!


Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group (STEEMITDIVERSIFY) and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit
https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in ”surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please like @teardrops on Facebook here and@teardrops on Twitter here
Please like the Facebook page here and Twitter here
PLEASE SUPPORT: steemgigs.org here
Please support also other that are good too: @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @henry-gant, @paradise-found, @geetharao, and @mahdiyari, also others who have visited My posts. Pls. support them too.

Thank you very much.
I am grateful for that and for everyone who has helped me and my friends.

”Have a great and blessed day everyone!”

B7352E26-B513-4BD7-8F73-3653DC0B63CF.jpeg

GratefulVibes

57023DB9-76F6-485E-8D82-F29BCCB59187.gif

Sort:  

di bale sis..cute mo pa rin naman hehehe

Hehehhe lang masabi ko sis wixet un...0

At least you have learned your lesson sis. Be careful next time.😊

Sayang din yun, pero gusto ko yung kunwaring iyak mo sis..hahaha

Hehehe sis k wixet ung scammer n un!

really good job !! i have following you !

Thank you so much..

you are welcome !

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This post received a $0.420 (50.61%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @sitiaishah! For more information, check out my profile!

hala, grabe naman yan... :( may mga tao talagang nabubuhay na nananapak ng ibang tao nuh? nasaan ba mga puso nila? bakit mga wala silang konsensya? tsk2. :/

Uu nga po e... tks for dropping by... If I am not mistaken, U were also in Steemgigs Discord Talk Show @creyestxsa94 last night?

Yep. I was there.. :)

Nice meeting you! Nahirapan ako s username mo...hehehe

Hahaha. Sorry.. Yung boyfriend ko kasi may gawa nitong account ehh.. HAHA ;D

I am sorry you lost your money. It’s very easy to get tricked these days. Thank you for sharing what happened, so we may all learn from your experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88