New Beginnings: Steemit Day 313; Ulog ~ 46

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)



Growing as a person and learning new things have always been very important to me. One of the hard facts for me to learn about myself was the fact I was not as stupid or slow as the 1970's public education system said I was. Growing up in an educational system that was built around teaching the average child how to read and write did not leave a lot of room for a child that learned things in a different way.

There were special classes for children that excelled in school. They were given the best equipment, teachers, and advice so they could go on to College very well prepared.

The average student was given advice. Counselors went through class schedules with them to better map out the best road to take so they would be able to get into a Collage of their choice. Information on where they needed to find extra help, in subjects they might be behind on, was also a perk given to them.

Then there was me and many others like me that didn't do well sitting in a classroom with a teacher droning on and on. A person, like me, who just made it through each day of school waiting for Summer to come. When I finally found something that did interest me, I would, in class, make the teacher go over the subject again and again, until I knew I understood the subject being taught.



"Does anyone have any questions?"



I learned early in life not to give up when wanting to learn about a subject.

To have the guts to raise your voice in class after the teacher would ask the question. You knowing everyone else around you understood the subject at hand, saying "I have a question" was not an easy thing to do.

The teacher then had to explain the subject all over again, at least one more time. This way they could say 'they tried' when you flunked the test. Having to fight for knowledge for most of my life, I learned to prioritize my battles for learning new things.

I am not blaming anyone for how things were in the school system I grew up in. It was what it was for the times. No one was doing it to be mean. They were just following the rules of the day and the times I happened to be born into.

The above are just the facts of the times so you might understand why a decision I made today was a huge step in my world.



I have been extremely lucky since I came to Steemit. I'm surrounded by people that don't mind sharing knowledge. They also don't mind me asking 35 different questions in a row. Questions that don't follow a logical line of reasoning that they can see, yet they still answer all 35 questions with a smile.

Thank You to those that have put up with that from me. You know who you all are.

Which leads me to today. While I was bouncing around Discord today instead of writing the 4 posts that need words, I happened into The Writers Block Discord server and had some Snook fun asking questions. I don't think they knew what to do with me so @shadowspub was called in to hmmmm......... errrrrrrrr..........find out what the heck I was going on about.

It had to do with ghosts. Yes, ghosts. No, no Zombies or Gnomes, just ghosts. Really. You will just have to trust me on this one.



Once the ghost issue was all straightened out I proceeded to try and write something for Saturday Nights writing workshop The Writers Block was having in thirty minutes. I will admit that my first try at the writing exercise I wrote the whole thing backward. 😁 Good thing for me I sent it to someone that in a very sweet way told me that it was not quite right.

I didn't give up. It was time. I need to learn more about writing. I need to learn at my own pace and in my own way but I do need to start learning more. With this in mind and only 15 minutes left before class I wrote another 75 word story to bring along.

I took my normal seat in the back of any classroom and proceeded to, well, read and listen to all that was being said. No candles were lite, no lambs were killed while I was there but a lot of information was sucked up by me.

@rhondak ran the class really well. Everyone who showed their homework to the class was treated with a ton of respect by all. There were a few people (@shadowspub) that came and said the cats ate their homework. They, of course, based on the cat facts, did not have anything to share with the class except for some very good advice.



I will stop here and say it was a really great experience for me tonight. I had a lot of reservations about taking a class in writing. I left this class in high spirits. I hope I will remember to do my homework before the next class but I don't think I have changed that much since High School or maybe I have. We will see. 😋 Either way I will be at the next class just to watch and listen if anything.



Be You Always!!!

Love,

Snook



Vote for Witness Enginewitty!

Vote for Witness Steemgigs!

Vote for Witness Jackmiller!

Vote for Witness Guiltyparties!

Vote for Witness c0ff33a!

SNOOK.gif

Sweet footer made by @enginewitty!

Sort:  

Very happy to have you there. These workshops have been invaluable to me too as each one I attend teaches me so much.

Yay! @rhondak is awesome at teaching. I hope you learned a lot of new stuffs!

heheheheh i love listening to you speak - all the time! listening to you speak about this now in TOTL :)

glad you had so much fun in the class!!! hehehehe even though you wrote it backwards ;)

good for you!!! How things can change in the world :)

Glad you went over there and got to schooling sweets. And you're welcome ;)

I am really, really annoyed with you for not putting this in our group post-promo channel (I know you know which one I mean.) So I punished you with a full upvote from the group account. Now behave yourself next time.

Hello @snook, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank You!!!

I love this! I love that you came into the workshop with a great piece for us to dig into, and that we got right to the heart of the day's "lesson" with it. Not to mention the fact that we LAUGHED, and had a great time. Oh, we laughed a lot. And that's when you know you have a great group of folks, when learning is fun and everybody leaves feeling like they're taking something valuable with them.

I hope you're with us all the time now! Oh, I know. We can't all be at every workshop. But you know what I mean. You earned that tomato color and now you can wear it with pride! :-)

You earned that tomato color and now you can wear it with pride!

I did, didn't I :D

Thanks for a fun night!!! I can not wait to see everyone's stories next time!!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 8 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 118 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75