ULOG #11: Starting From Where You Are Now

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I have been somewhat absent from Steemit the past couple of weeks and I apologize for that. I have had a lot of personal stuff and health stuff that I have been dealing with behind the scenes and then my internet router decided it was going to give out so I had to wait to get a new one!

That’s just life though, right? It happens.

A thought has been on my mind a lot the past couple of weeks and I wanted to share.


A little bit of sunshine to start off with!

divider-1024.png

Being ok with starting from here

If you want to work towards a new life goal or make improvements to your life, you should start from where you are at currently instead of striving for overnight improvements.

We all want to be better or to have better in our lives, that is a common human condition. And many of us want it immediately, I have been guilty of this thinking myself, so I get it.

Or we want the people in our lives to make changes to themselves immediately and we get frustrated with them if they fall below our expectations of them.

Why can’t we just love ourselves and each other enough to want what is best for ourselves and others but be patient and loving enough to focus on progress and not perfection?

When did we become so critical of the world that we set the unrealistic expectation of perfection and if you aren’t perfect you will be judged?

divider-1024.png

Love them anyway

I have a friend that is dating a man that is imperfect and he accepts his imperfections and seems to be working on them at a decent rate.

To my friend, he isn’t working on himself fast enough and she is frustrated with him. She vents her frustrations to him in a negative manner, they argue, and he gives up temporarily in his pursuit of life improvement.

Wouldn’t it be easier if she just accepted that he is trying to make improvements and loved/supported him as he worked?

I believe that she thinks she loves him and wants him to have everything in life that he wants for himself but browbeating someone into doing what you want at the pace you want them to move only hurts the relationship.

I could understand her frustration if he wasn’t working on himself at all and had no goals in life whatsoever. But, his goals for himself and his personal life are not the exact same as hers and that should be ok.

Even in relationships, we should have some goals that are separate that we are working towards and maintain our own individual identity within the relationship. So, working on yourself separately when you need to do so shouldn’t be frowned upon. It’s often a necessity.

divider-1024.png

Taking a shot at someone’s confidence in themselves or in their character when they are actively trying to change is hurtful and wrong. I’m sorry if you disagree with me but I’m saying it anyway.

Coming to someone from a place of love, kindness, and understanding while being supportive of their growth process and the rate they are growing is the best possible scenario in my mind.

divider-1024.png

And we should all work to love on each other a little bit more. If we did the world would be such a brighter place!

How would you approach this situation? How have you approached situations like this in your own life or relationships? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Thanks for reading!

Ivy

The @helpie community is growing! If you are a community-centered person and want to be part of a great community dedicated to helping others grow then follow @helpie for more information, leave a comment on this post, or reach out to me on Discord at socent#3214.

Are you a military veteran that believes in community and in the Steemit platform? We have an awesome community of vets on Discord. If interested, send me a message on Discord at socent#3214.

I recently became a mentor for Promo Mentors every Tuesday at 11am EST if anyone needs some posts checked out! I really enjoy the community and how helpful everyone is :)

Sort:  

Welcome back to steemit @socent!
Stay strong and take good care of yourself always!
Thanks for sharing this story of yours.

You are most welcome and thank you for leaving a thoughtful comment. Starting from where you are can be difficult but is so necessary for growth.
Ivy

We love you right back, @socent!! Welcome back! :-)

Hey! I have missed you! How have you been?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31