#ULOG 001: "For the love for Cooking & for the love for my Family"

in #ulog6 years ago

          Hello there fellow Uloggers! It was late in the afternoon today and I am all alone at home. Since I got nothing much to do so I decided to cook and prepare dinner for my family. And when I look into the fridge on what’s available for the menu for the evening, I found out that all that’s left in the fridge are varieties of vegetables. And luckily I’ve got just the perfect recipe and idea on what to cook for dinner which is somehow not a complicated dish. Since I haven’t done cooking for a while, it somehow puts my skills in cooking into a test. But I am always up to the challenge specially in cooking because it is one of my passion and one of the things that I love to do.
          The recipe that I’ve decided to cook is “Pinakbet” which is an indigenous Filipino dish. It is made from different kinds of vegetables that is steamed in fish or shrimp sauce but some uses soy sauce instead. And now let me teach you on how to cook the said “Pinakbet” dish my way.


Let's begin!


How to cook ”Pinakbet”?


Ingredients:

  • Pork, thinly sliced

2013-01-01 08.12.44 1.jpg


  • Eggplant, sliced

2013-01-01 08.12.49 1.jpg


  • Squash, sliced

2013-01-01 08.12.45 1.jpg


  • Tomato, sliced

2013-01-01 08.12.50 1.jpg


  • Garlic, crushed then sliced

2013-01-01 08.12.48 1.jpg


  • Onion, chopped

2013-01-01 08.12.52 1.jpg


  • Chili pepper

2013-01-01 08.12.51 1.jpg


  • Okra, sliced

2013-01-01 08.12.46 1.jpg


  • 3 tbsp of cooking oil

2013-01-01 08.12.55 1.jpg


  • 1 cup of water

2013-01-01 08.12.53 1.jpg


  • Salt and pepper
  • Soy sauce
    (Quantity of ingredients may vary depending on your own preference.)

Procedure:

  1. First, we need to heat the pan and put the cooking oil.
  2. When the cooking oil is already hot enough, sauté the garlic, onion, tomato and chili pepper. Make sure not to overdo it because if you do it will give a bitter taste to the dish right after.
  3. Add in the pork into the pan and cook until the color turns into light brown.
  4. Add the soy sauce in the pan together with the pork. In my case I am not using shrimp paste so I use soy sauce instead because it is what’s available in our kitchen.
  5. Next is adding in the water and let it boil. Simmer the pork until it is tender.
  6. Put in the squash in the pan and cook it until texture is already soft.
  7. After making sure that the texture of the squash is already soft, add all the remaining vegetables and mix it together with the other ingredients. And keep it in mind not to overcook the vegetables.
  8. Lastly, season it with salt and pepper to add in to the taste of the dish and mix it until ready to serve.
  9. Serve it hot and don't forget to serve it together steamed white rice.

Enjoy Eating!


2013-01-01 08.12.43 1.jpg

(My Very Own Version of “Pinakbet”)


There you have it my very own version of “Pinakbet”!




Thank you so much for dropping by and for the support! Stay tuned for more blogs and updates from me @spreadyourword! God bless!

Sort:  

Your dinner looks fantastic.
I share more ideas to make your ulogs

Diapositiva1.PNG

Diapositiva3.PNG

Diapositiva4.PNG

Wow! Thank you for noticing @teardrops! I'll definitely apply all those tips on my next posts! Highly appreciated! God bless!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by spreadyourword from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Ohhww..! @spreadyourword. Your pinakbet version looks delicious. Soon I make it a try..😊

Thank you so much @cjsean :) Yeah sure, you should give it a try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09