Stuck at the Airport for 10 Hours Learned It Wasn't a Big Deal ULOG #3

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

I Was so mad, But Then

I will get to what happened to change how I felt soon but first I will give you the background. As you might know I spent this last weekend in Vegas with my wife. It was a short trip to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We have the two young daughters at home so just getting away to be with each other for a few days was the main idea of the trip. Even though like my last post said we are not really Vegas party people we do like to gamble a bit and just relax in the hotel. We always see a show this time time it was Mat Franco's Magic act pretty good might I say. Also try to enjoy a good meal here and there on the strip. So our plan for the Trip was to Fly to Vegas instead of driving from CA. It seemed like a good move we could afford it now just a hour flight from Long Beach there and back. So Monday when got a late flight home at 6pm and paid for the late check out so that was a 3pm.

Our last day went as planned to start a nice breakfast some time in the room....watching TV yes we never get to watch our shows anymore so we brought them with us. Then on to gamble she lost more and my winnings went down from 100 up to 40 down and then back to 60 up so I called it a day leaving with more than I came with but as a couple Vegas beat us again. We checked out and got our Uber and headed to the Airport.

On the way to the airport we get the first delay the flight will now leave at 7pm it says. A bit of a bummer as we arrive at the airport at 3:30pm. But we figure it is okay will give us time to eat and just talk and stuff till we head home. We face time with our daughters and start to hang out in the hanger. By 5pm we find out the plane that suppose to fly us broke down see it was going back and forth from Long Beach to Vegas all day. After getting a late start that was the first push back an hour it had some issues and they pulled it with no other plane. So we are sitting around with the people that where suppose to fly home at 2pm also still stuck and our flight is now 9pm. Here is where I get mad. We go up and offer to fly out tomorrow if they will only put us up in a hotel for the night. This is a Monday night hotels are cheap. They have a policy to owe us a credit for this delay we are already up to $100 bucks each that we would be waving but they won't do it. I just don't understand. We try to get on stand bye for other flights. I start yelling at Jet Blue on Twitter. They talked back but no help. I called in and knew more about the broken plan than the girl helping me. She was nice but of no help. So I I am pretty mad as the bounce us around from gate to gate. I won't be home to see my girls before bed and have no idea when I will get home as now our flight is going to leave at 11pm they say. So then something happens to remind me that my live is pretty good and I should not be getting this mad.

We get moved gates again. This bugs me makes me feel like they are just bouncing us around so we can't keep bugging the same workers. They move us to a gate that has another flight on the screen going to Fort Lauderdale at 9:50pm It is around 8:30 and we are sitting there now our flight is pushed to 12:15am and I am really getting mad. I am getting ready to go yell at someone for sure. When I hear a guy say "your not afraid of dogs are you?" I look up and there is a older man with a red hate with one word on it Veteran, with his companion dog . I say no cause in fact I love dogs. He sits next to me the dog comes up and licks my hand as I pat his head. My wife comes back just as mad as she got the same message on her phone. She had been at the charging station. We go on to find out that this man had fought in the Iraq wars and been a police man for 30 years in Long Beach. He had seen many messed up things and been hurt in the war. Yet he was a nice as can be. So sad that we got delayed a few hours and he really was. While at the same time telling us of the times his flights home from the war got delayed for days in strange places. Or the time they took him to Ontario Canada instead of Ontario California. He boarded is plane a little while longer and we got moved to another gate but my anger was just about gone. I still go annoyed as the flight home got pushed again and again. But was no longer filled with that need to yell at the workers.

In the end we flew home at 1:45am made it back to our house around 3:30am went to bed at 4:00am and had our daughter jumping on us at 7am. It was a long day today but it worked out. We did get that credit 250 each so 500 dollars. I still don't get why they wouldn't give us that hotel to avoid all this. But I guess I have a free flight for next year. I also was reminded that there are people that go through a lot more than I ever have or probably ever will and he was just one example of that. It is funny how strangers with words you need to hear can show up at the perfect times. A little magic that happened to me a few times in my life.

religion-3507227__340.jpg

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) <<< please click to read.

Source1
Source2

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stever82 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nothing like talking to someone who had it harder to bring reality into focus.

Enjoyed your post immensely.

And your experience reminded me of this:

https://steemit.com/inspiration/@jaichai/ijch-it-s-your-choice-and-no-one-else-s-or-how-obligation-can-obscure-your-inner-vision

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

You just planted 0.13 tree(s)!


Thanks to @stever82

We have planted already 3362.93 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 19466.89
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Congratulations @stever82! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Airports can be really frustrating, but there can be good things that happen too. Good post. :-)

Thank you ya I was really getting upset then a few minutes later I am like wow this is small stuff.

Everything that happens to us, is always for a reason! We need to read between lines.!! Greetings!

Thank you and greetings Things do happen for reason.

This post has received a 18.22 % upvote from @boomerang.

No matter what you do, no matter how harder you try , it always be what is going to be.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71