Ulog #1: Mama’s Birthday!

in #ulog6 years ago



Last week, we celebrated our favorite woman’s birthday-mama! It was a very simple celebration with only us, family members.

After having our car checked by the mechanic, we went next to Manaoag church. It was a Sunday so there were lots of people and parking areas around the church were jam packed. If only the parking area inside the church was open, then traffic will be lessened for sure. (The parking space inside the church is under renovation since last year.) We had no choice but to take the paid parking which costs Php 50 for a car. Establishments and residents around the church are sure earning a lot from this business.

The next mass would still be in 30 minutes, so instead of just sitting on the bench and fanning ourselves to resist heat, I suggested that we visit the church’s museum. The museum is fully air conditioned and there’s no entrance fee, though there’s a donation box where you can donate any amount you wish to give.

Taking photos and videos are not allowed inside the museum, so I’ll just try to narrate what’s inside. The museum houses some religious items dating back to early 1700’s to 1900’s. Some are made of gold, silver, and precious stones. Some of Our Lady of Manaoag’s gowns and accessories could also be found here. I was so much engrossed with how intricate the design of her clothes and accessories were, especially her old crowns and scepter.

After that, we went inside the church to attend the mass. Unfortunately, there were already lots of people and all seats were already occupied. We had no choice but to stand at the farthest area. You know, we’re not getting any younger. Standing for about an hour really hurt my legs. I only get to rest my legs when the speaker says the magic word, “Please kneel.”



P_20180603_203249.jpg

After visiting Manaoag Church, we went to Dagupan City to buy mama a cake. I suggested the carrot cake (Php 280) from Bread House because it’s delicious and not too sweet. I love their cakes. We also got our sister’s cake here last year and it’s also delicious.

We then headed to Shakey’s to have a simple dinner for mama’s birthday. I was wishing that we eat on a restaurant but my brother was insisting for Shakey’s. Anyway, it’s been awhile since I’ve eaten here, so why not. I ordered lasagna, mojos, salad, and blueberry yogurt for my drink. The foods were okay, but everything just tastes salty and sour. (Lol.) Just as I thought, foods on Shakey’s tastes a little extreme for me. I did like the salad though.

Aside from the foods, we got into a funny and awkward situation too. While we were waiting for our foods to be served, some of the staff began to gather and sang a birthday song to a birthday celebrant sitting behind us. Later on, my mom talked to the lady serving our food and asked if they can also sing for her. Minutes passed by, we’ve already finished eating and had already paid our bill, but my mom's request was still not given. Maybe they’re too busy or something to perform a short song.

Anyway, it’s still a good day. I had fun snapping photos of mom and taking boomerang videos of her while she blows the candle. She laughed a lot when she saw the boomerang videos I took.

Yup, that’s pretty much it for my first Ulog entry.

Thanks for reading!


✧ Straykat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72