How to Handle Being Homesick as a Student

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Untitled-1.png


I just noticed that it has been a week since my last post, I was very busy because it was the last week of my summer vacation in my home country - Vietnam. I was busy visiting and saying goodbye to my friend, my relatives and my family and also preparing to go back to school in the Philippines for the next 2 years. I arrived in the Philippines last Friday but unfortunately, I wasn't able to manage my time for Steemit because I have to clean up my room, arrange my stuff and repair my old scooter.

IMAG0125.jpg

Homesickness is a form of emotional distress results from feeling disconnected from familiar people and places and forced out of your regular routine. Homesickness affected by many factors, it could be because of the culture, environment, language, and loneliness, etc. But after years of studying abroad, I finally conquered homesickness. Here is what I do to Handle Being Homesick.

PicsArt_05-20-09.50.11.jpg

I always keep myself busy throughout the day to distract my mind to think about home. What I really do is create a routine and keep up my habits. As a student, I want to study in advance and solving problems relate to my course which is Mechanical Engineering, by study in advance it will be easier for me to participate in the class, this usually consumes most of my time in a day. Besides that, I try to talk to other students on campus and make friend with most of them, it is a way to keep myself occupied on school campus. After school, I always make sure my room is clean and read new posts from my Steemit Feed. The most important thing to do is to immerse in the local culture, I forced myself to learn Cebuano and go to cultural events and museums. I also tried all Filipino food and exotic foods like 'Balut'. After seeing everything this place has to offer, I kind of start to feel like here is my new home, I love the people and the culture in the Philippines. That is how I handle being homesick as a student.


Click the Banner to join our Dynamic Steemians' Discord Server !
symonp.gif

Sort:  

Up.Voted !!

Congratulations @symonp: this post has been upvoted by @minnowhelpme!!
This is a free upvote bot, part of the project called @steemrepo , made for you by the witness @yanosh01.
Thanks for being here!!

I totally emotionally related, and unfortunately it's been few years now. But hey the Philippines has a lot of fun , and it's your another home too! Enjoy there! We will see you soon again in Vietnam!

Hopefully we can join a meet up in Vietnam someday :D

em học lâu nữa k thì xong

kể ra buồn nhỉ :( c có nhiều bạn viejt nam ở đấy k ?

Trường mình chả có ma nào ng Việt cả, có 1 số ng Hàn thôi.

oái sao chán vạy @@ bên đấy c ko quen 1 ai ng việt luôn á ? hàng xóm chả hạn

không có nổi ai luôn :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87