Back from vacation

in #ulog6 years ago

So I'm back after a well-needed week off from Steem, spent in Montreal seeing some friends, eating well, reading, and trying to catch up on my sleep debt. That last didn't work very well, but I guess small progress is still progress.

This was originally going to be a convention and photography trip, but the closer it came the more tired I got, and it got pared down more and more as it got closer. I didn't quite skip the whole convention, but my participation was mostly limited to meal groups and hanging around in the lobby talking to people. I did skip the whole photography; in fact I left all my gear at home on purpose so as not to be tempted to work.

DpAoeBgWsAA__nw.jpg large.jpg
I did take a cell-phone photo of a pizza on the last day.

Then the pared-down version was supposed to feature some writing and some Inktober and maybe some test plays of Steem Monsters, but those didn't happen either. My tablet computer never left my bag.

This is kind of how travel goes for me - I fill it up with work of some sort or another. Partly because I tend to be more productive when on the road than I am at home. I haven't had a full-bore vacation since a weekend trip to Duluth in 2013 or so, and that one got converted on the fly when I forgot my camera batteries. I'm not sure when the last one that was intended as a non-working vacation was; maybe spring break of 1998, when my home was destroyed by a tornado while I was gone. That might have something to do with why I don't do those much.

This one was kind of the opposite of the 1998 candidate, in that almost nothing changed while I was away. It doesn't seem to have stopped raining for a moment here, consequences from hardfork 20 are still exposing holes in the Steem development philosophy, and Jimmy Butler somehow still hasn't been traded. My own existential exhaustion is only mildly relieved, and while the physical exhaustion needs a little more distance from tiny planes to really know, it seems to be more or less the same as well. That's disappointing.

I didn't exactly come back raring to go. Instead I'm feeling a lack of ambition and worried about the winter, since I don't usually feel the way I do now until mid-December. Hopefully we'll get a little bit of sun before it's all ice all the time, and that will help me to something of a second wind.

Until then, at least I have a backlog of book reviews to write.

Sort:  

umm... who are you??

Welcome back and it sounds like you need a better vacation planner ;)

I need a better manager, period.

Too bad that your spirit is not lifted up by the vacation, but at least you're sleeping slliiightly better.
                       
Welcome back ^_^.

good to have you back brother.

heheh welcome back Tim :) seems they were really vacations if you take a good time just for you, taking a break of all this mess around ;)

Haha! All work without play Makes T a dull Guy :P
Great to have you back, you didn't miss much from how I see it.

The great thing about my work is that most of it is play to begin with.

I swear a "real" vacation is more of a myth then anything. I would take a good book or video game over any of the hassle a vacation creates.

At least you got out and about somewhat. Sometimes a break from the every day is better then not.

Perhaps your next one you just need zero plans. A log cabin in the middle of no where on a lake! Leave all the electronics behind and just get a break from the crazy world we all live in.

Hello @tcpolymath. How can I join themesopotamians community.

Once I get things fully running again after HF20 I'll do a big applications post for all levels. It will look similar to this one (except for the SP restrictions) if you want to think about your application ahead of time: https://steemit.com/themesopotamians/@tcpolymath/apply-here-for-dolphin-support-1000-1300-sp-accounts

I am close to 400 SP. Thanks for your reply.

The next application period will be for everyone under 2500 SP.

Ummm, what do you wanna join? ...I need to learn to spell and pronounce that first ..a little too long for me! So obviously I am ineligible for it too.

I am going to join a really good program. I hope you to keep an eye on his post.

WIll do.

Best wishes

You got a 39.69% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

Welcome back @tcpolymath! Well, everyone deserves some time off. Plus, you are resting and reboot your own physical and mind to prepare for the final rush of the year.

Hope your spirits get lifted without the help of a tornado =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14