Family is not by BLOOD: My Firsthand Experience.

in #ulog6 years ago

There's this popular saying that "Family is not about blood, it's about who is willing to hold your hands when you need it the most". My fellow steemians, follow through as I share my experience of visiting Abuja for the first time.

On this fateful day (thursday), I was just surfing the internet after finishing a bowl of local delicacy as my lunch in my humble abode in Lagos. All of a sudden, my phone rang with an unknown number as the caller ID. I picked the call and the caller request for my name. After confirmation, the caller disclose the good news to me. Lo and behold, my countenance change for good and people around me noticed it. Brethren, I have been offered a Job in a reputable company in the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja where I don't have any family member or relatives. It was a mixed feeling for me, I was happy for the appointment and on the other hand I was sad because I had no place to reside at least until I can settle down on my own preferrably after been paid for the first few month(s).

I use the whole weekend to prepare for my first trip to Abuja because I have to resume the following monday. I set out to the motor park and boarded the vehicle going to abuja. Before then, one of my friend during the weekend has link me with his uncle residing in FCT with the hope of staying there for a short period of time. It was brought to my notice that he stays alone and I was happy because I dont like being a burden to his family and/or being accussed of intruding the family privacy.

Abuja, here I come....................

image

I locate my friend's uncle house and I was warmly welcome to his apartment. I took my bath after settling down for some minutes and had my dinner before going to bed. It was a short night and we both set out to our various place of work after the morning routine preparation bearing in mind it is my first day at work. Locating the office address wasn't difficult due to the detailed mapping out of the city.

I was welcomed to the registry department where all my documentation was done and I was told to resume the following day after being shown my office. I waited till the official closing time just to acquaint myself with the office, my new colleagues and to make new friends. After closing for the day and returning back home, I was welcome with a shocking news that I can no longer stay with my friend's uncle again. In his words, "I'm expecting a visitor and I'll need my privacy". I totally understand and reasoned with him but the thought of where else will I stay saddened and make me unrest throughout the night. I didn't even bother to inform my friend in Lagos because I don't want to start any family problem.

image

Before you say jack, its the dawn of a new day and I am left with no option than to pack all my belongings with no destination in mind. I encourage myself and put my trust only in GOD. I got to the office with my travelling box and I drop it at the security house.
I resumed work officially and was at my optimal best regardless of having nowhere to go after work. During the lunch break, I maximized every bit of opportunity I have to dialogue with my colleagues. During our conversation, a senior colleague was amazed at my story and he lend a hand of love to me by offering me to stay in his house till I can get my own apartment even without knowing me from adam.

He notified his wife and we went home together. I spend a couple of month with them before I finally settle down.

I urge you my fellow steemians to always show LOVE and demonstrate it when the need arise.

Lets always do our best to be our brothers keeper and to love one another.

With LOVE, the world will be a BETTER place.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Life is full of surprises. Angels in human clothing. The power of empathy cannot be overlooked.

Family is always by biological connection but also via divine connection. I am so glad that your ordeal finally turned to testimony.

Congratulations on your new jobs.. Happy working bro and good life..

Thanks for sharing.. I am your family too because we are both steemians..

I am me @brightfame

Always be kind to others because that kindness might be the only thing they needed at the moment and at that time. I find family in friends. Family is to whom you have bonded the most and those who have been with you through thick and thin and continually be there for you. We should give back the love given us and share it to others.

About your second photo, is that yours? If so, you might have forgotten putting the source where you copied it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87