Meeting My Friend Kaoru After 3 Long Years <3 (ULOG Day 105)

in #ulog5 years ago


What's up guys?! I am a bit tired from yesterday, but it wouldn't compare the happiness I felt upon meeting one of my Japanese friends again after 3 longs years. I am still overwhelmed and I miss her already. In this post, I am going to share how I spent my time with my friend yesterday.


image.png



Earlier last month, my Japanese friend Kaoru asked me if I have some time to meet her if ever she comes to Cebu. And as you know, I own my time, so I told her that I will adjust my time for her so we can surely meet when she comes as long as she informs me of the date of her arrival in advanced.

Happily, she told me that she's coming in April... and yes, that happened yesterday-- April 7th.

We decided to meet on that date at around 2PM in SM Seaside, the biggest mall in Cebu. It was all set... and actually, I let my mama come with us. She rarely goes out like me, so it's a good chance to hangout together. Anyway, Kaoru and mama knows each other and Kaoru has been in our place a couple times in the past.

We met around 15 minutes earlier than the set time. This is what I like about meeting up with Japanese friends, you won't have to wait for a long time! So, I decided to sit down at some cake shop so we could rest for a bit and start catching up earlier as we only have very limited time to spend together.


image.png



We were too excited to catch up that we forgot to take pictures of the cake we ate. Well, I have a picture to show later, though... hahah I and mama had blueberry cheesecake paired with jasmine tea, while Kaoru tried out tiramisu cake paired with water. She didn't feel like drinking anything flavored that time. lol It's amazing how time flies. We reminisced our time together in the English Academy and when she used to visit our house back then. When she was still my student in the Academy, she was just a 20-year old University student and now she's been working in a company in Japan. We talked about our common friends and also my dog Arashi. She really likes Arashi and they were good friends, too. SHe also have a cute dachshund back in Japan. <3


image.png



This cake's amazing! LOL This is the only picture I took... and that's the only part of the cake that was left when I remember to take a picture intended for my blog. Sometimes, when we're too excited, we tend to forget the things we intend to do. Well, I am just glad I could share a very delish cake with my dear friend and my mama.




After eating some cakes in my favorite cake shop, mama separated from us because she had to buy something and in order for me and Kaoru to do more catching up to do. It's been three years, so we really had a lot to talk about.

I and Kaoru went around the mall when she asked me to go to a shop where she can buy a shirt with "Cebu" print as a souvenir for her bf. I took her to a local shop where she actually enjoyed looking at various products. She happily chose some souvenirs to buy as we continued our catching up. She told me updates about her life and I did the same. It's really great that even if we were separated and changed individually, our relationship as friends remained.


image.png



After walking around and shopping for souvenirs, we decided to sit down again and quench our thirst. We drank this very delicious lemon juice and it felt so relaxing afterwards. We rested our slightly sore feet and just talked and talked even more.

I am truly surprised that yesterday was the only day she could spend in Cebu and that it was only intended to meet me. She arrived at around 8PM last April 6th, then she flew back to Japan this morning. She's already back in her place as I'm writing this blog. I really thought she had other plans, but she just planned to spend time with me. Aww... She is such a sweetheart. I am really lucky to have found a great friend and younger sister in her.

The next time she visits the Philippines, she'll try to stay longer. By then, we're doing more activities and perhaps go out of town to make more fun memories together. Anyway, what's important is we were able to spend time together just like we did in the past.


image.png



When the sun wasn't so strong anymore, we met up with mama again and I brought them to the Skypark to relax and have a more fresh and natural ambiance. The warm-turning-cool breeze helped us relax. We spent time relaxing and appreciating the things our eyes can see.


image.png



This is what Cebu really feels like! She commented as she told me that someday, she would love to live in the Philippines again. If given a chance to have a job here, she would definitely grab the opportunity because she loves how happy and resilient Filipinos are. That no matter what problems, or no matter how tired people may be, the always try to smile. She even asked me how to be confident because there are times when it's just so hard. I told her to be herself and accept herself, flaws and imperfections included. Through acceptance of oneself, comes love. You will learn to love yourself and confidence would naturally come out.

Being able to open up made her heart lighter and she's now ready to face the adversities of the real world again. Kaoru is such a precious child. I feel like she's my daughter.. lol But really, I value her and our friendship which has been tested by time and distance.


When the sun finally set, we decided to treat her to dinner before she goes back to the hotel. Originally, we planned to eat in Jollibee as it has been a while since she was able to have it. Unfortunately though, Jollibee was so full of people, so we changed our plans. I decided to go to "Jonie's restaurant" because they serve really good meals at a reasonable price. And I am truly glad she enjoyed.


image.png



image.png



image.png



image.png



I had pork belly, Kaoru had pork barbecue while mama had the calamari set. We also ordered some chicken pops the three of us could share. We had a blast and our tummy almost exploded due to eating. However, for women, even if one stomach is full, there will always be a separate stomach for dessert. So, we ordered just small sized halo-halo for dessert.


image.png



The texture of the halo-halo in Jonie's is also really good. The shaved ice was so creamy that it was all worth it. Surprisingly, it was Kaoru's first time to have halo-halo... so I explained to her how to eat it. Halo-halo when translated literally is "mix-mix". Obviously, you have to mix everything together before you can enjoy eating it.


image.png



After mixing thoroughly, we all enjoyed our dessert. She happily finished her share and thanked me and mama for the wonderful experience. She promised to come and visit again in the future and by then, we'll have to plan more stuff to enjoy and go to.

We called a "Grab" (a ride-hailing service) for her so she could safely arrive at her hotel and sleep well as she needed to be in the airport at 5AM today. Luckily, we were able to find a driver for her and was sent safely in her hotel. As for me and mama, the place we live is really busy so instead of waiting for "Grab" service, we decided to ride the bus home.


image.png



Lucky for us, there were still some empty seats at the back... so we were able to comfortably go home. It was a very short meeting, yet our tummy and our heart are full of wonderful things.

Just a few moments ago, Kaoru messaged me that she has safely arrived in Japan. Time flies, so we should cherish every moment and every person that becomes a part of our lives.

I am so glad and I feel so lucky to have a wonderful friend like her. We have indeed shared both happy and sad times together. I really treasure my friends no matter how far and no matter how busy each of our lives may get. Friendship is universal... it doesn't matter from which part of the world you may be.

I'm also very thankful for having really great parents who are truly my friends. They're so supportive and accepting. They consider my friends as their own, so my friends can also feel their warmth and love. In the end, if you know how to value a person, they would definitely value your existence in their lives as well.

Thank you very much for reading. I really appreciate it. Look forward to reading more posts from me in the days to come. じゃあね~!

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

True friendship is a godsend

I couldn't agree more... So, we should value the friendship we have. They're for keeps. <3

You got a 6.58% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tegoshei! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Looks like nice friendship.

Posted using Partiko iOS

For sure.. thanks @yasu24さん!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85