Talking About Japanese Anime and Culture With Students (Ulog Day 97)

in #ulog5 years ago


Talking about anime during my classes is a very normal occurrence. I think there wasn't a work day in which I haven't talked about a certain anime or something related to it. Is it because I have mostly Japanese students? But honestly, I do talk about anime even to my Taiwanese and Korean students as well. And because of it, work becomes less stressful.


A while ago, I watched an update of the anime "Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuiteru" during my break time. The student I was about to have a class with sent me an article from SoraNews24 which depicts "anime scenes" which puzzles Japanese fans.

At one point it said, "So much ramen, so little sushi." And so she asked me whether I was puzzled about it or not.



IMAGE SOURCE



And so I told her...

To be honest, I have watched anime first before I got acquainted with any other Japanese related stuff like food and culture. When I was a child, I have witnessed Goku eating ramen instead of sushi, so it appeared pretty normal for me. So, when Naruto and other characters who love ramen came, it was natural.



She was smiling and told me that I'm really crazy about and keen on Japanese anime. Then our conversation shifted to another Japanese food called Oden. And I actually became familiar with it because of a soccer anime and an American football anime. I think it was in "Whistle!" and "Eyeshield 21"



image.png
IMAGE SOURCE


The one in Eyeshield 21 was pretty much similar to this, while the one in "Whistle!" was a moving one. And after some more exchanges about Japanese food, she asked me what anime I am currently watching, so I told her about "Kaze ga Tsuyoku Fuiteiru" and that it's about Hakone Ekiden.

image.png
IMAGE SOURCE



We were both surprised for different reasons. I was surprised because when I told her what happened in anime she said was "あるある”. (Aruaru, according to her, is a Japanese slang word which means, "I recognize that... or it's familiar or the same") She said Japanese people really look forward to watching Hakone Ekiden because it's so touching how the runners do their best to run as a team.

In her case, she was surprised because she has never thought she's able to talk about Hakone Ekiden with a teacher. I mean, she can... but it's not a common topic because most foreigners don't recognize it.

I truly enjoy talking with my student today and I look forward to talking about anime and Japanese-related stuff with them. <3 Somehow, I can proudly say... "I am happy that I'm an otaku!" So, let's keep watching anime. Baibai~!!!!


@tegoshei

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Hi @tegoshei!

I am a curator for AkibaSteem and this is just to let you know that I upvoted your post:

We're an anime-focused community full of fans and good people! We aim to find good anime & manga content, share a happy moment & give some visibility. Keep up the great work!

Also, feel free to join our community on Discord!

https://discord.gg/7JQruwm

Thank you! :D

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

箱根駅伝!観に行ったことありますよ。

Posted using Partiko iOS

うわ〜本当ですか?
どうだった?楽しかった?

楽しかったですよ。私が卒業した大学も出場しています。

Posted using Partiko iOS

すごいですね!
@yasu24さんの大学のチームは強いですか?

今は弱いです(笑)

Posted using Partiko iOS


Ibinahagi ang lathalang ito sa #pilipinas channel para sa mga curator ng Curation Collective Discord Community, binigyan ng upvote at ni-resteem ng @c-squared na account pagkatapos ng manu-manong pagsusuri.
This post was shared in the #pilipinas channel in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75