ULOG: The Weekly What's Up? Dood Life

in #ulog5 years ago

My Weekly What's Up?

Another week and another what's up! How you all doing? I hope all is well. It's June and here's what's up with The Dood...

New Computer

trading_laptop.jpg

I recently got a new computer and for the most part I've been really happy with it. It seemed I was having some issues with multi-media. Mostly streaming music while working. I thought it was an upper memory issue and that maybe the computer needed more RAM. Last night was the first night I really worked on the new laptop. I was running my music through my Chromebook and doing everything else on the new laptop. I must of had close to 15 browser windows open, trading on 3 exchanges, working on a website with ATOM IDE, and had GiMP running for some graphics work I was doing.

This was why I bought this computer. The Inspiron was starting to show signs of not being able to handle that work load. I really didn't even realize I was using the computer that hard till I was closing out all the Windows at the end of the night. I was pretty happy when I realized how well the computer was handling the workload. I have no doubt in my mind that I probably could of added much more to the workload and everything would of continued to run fine.

Laying in bed thinking about my multi-media problem last night I realized it's not the memory or the processor. This computer seems to be able to handle anything I throw at it. It's my home internet! Maybe the network card on the computer is a little weak, but regardless I've always had a spotty internet connection at home. When I got to work this morning, I decided to run a little experiment. I put a decent sized workload on the computer and then played music. To my surprise... No streaming issues. No buffering problems. Everything working great. So it looks like I'm going to have to either move the router out of the basement so I get a better internet connection on the second floor where I do most of my work or buy a repeater signal booster type device to help boost the signal through the house. I've noticed the back of the house gets a real spotty connection too. I will say, I'm pretty stoked to discover such a simple solution. I was a little disappointed with the multi-media issues I was having. Problem solved. Frankly, I'm now starting to think I bought the perfect computer for my needs! The Dood's happy!

Replacing A Leaky Fork Seal

motorcycle.jpg

What a debacle this is turning into! I had a leaky fork seal on the Honda. It's a $20 part and I called two diffferent shops and both wanted over $300 for the repair. I usually work on my own bike anyway, I was just being lazy because I know it's a bit involved. I just couldn't justify paying $300 for a $20 dollar job so decided to do it myself.

The first attempt I stripped out the Fork Oil Bolt. Not a big deal, but it was Memorial Day weekend so I had to wait for the shop to open on Tuesday. They didn't have the part in stock, so I had to order the part and wait another week.

I did round two over this previous weekend and I think I had a bad bushing because the seal wouldn't seat correctly and it leaked. Again, I ordered a complete rebuild kit for the troubled fork, and I'll attempt round 3 this weekend. Wish me luck.

The riding weather here has been terrible though. It's either cold or raining or both! It's June and my heater kicked on last night in the house! It's just cold enough to make for an uncomfortable ride most evenings. I'm really hoping that changes soon!

The Dood's Done Dieting For The Summer

I stopped doing any serious dieting after Memorial Day Weekend. For the most part I'm enjoying my summer. I've been eating real clean for the most part though. Lots of fruit, produce and healthier, leaner meats. I will admit, it's nice being able to have a beer or a couple shots of whiskey without feeling guilty. I haven't weighed myself since I got off diet, but I'm planning on putting on a few pounds till my metabolism stabilizes. I've been putting it off. I'll probably do a weigh in this Friday and see where I'm at. This summer it going to be all about maintaining my weight. After labor day I'm going to go back on keto and try and lose the rest of this weight by New Years. I'd love to start 2020 under 200 pounds!

Well that's pretty much what's up with me! For the tweeted version, "Digging the new computer, multi-media issue solved. Working on the bike and waiting for better riding weather. Eating healthy!"

Till next time. Thanks for reading and cheers from Buffalo NY!


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Bike issues are never fun. And I want another bike!

Posted using Partiko Android

Make sure to @ me with some pictures if you get one! Bikes are a blast.

Shit... Trying to find the entire co-signer thing and payments. I'd totally afford the bike then.

Posted using Partiko Android

I've almost always bought used bikes. If you take your time, you can usually find a great deals. I live in Buffalo though and with the cold weather it's really easy to find low mileage bikes in phenomenal shape at a great price. I've been riding since I was 12 so I know how to do most of the work on them myself. The only new bike I bought was a cheap Chinese Dual Sport assembled in California. It was pretty cool ordering a motorcycle over the internet. https://www.cscmotorcycles.com/default.asp?page=xInventoryDetail&id=6726786&p=1&vc=dual%20sport&s=Year&d=D&fr=xAllInventory

Super easy bike to work on. The engine is a Honda clone and pretty much the same engine I worked on growing up as a kid.

That's sweet. Yeah definitely love the fuel injection. That shit is nice. Miss my crf250L and love the Camo and black of the klx. One day and soon I'm working for something...

But Camo... Bike, Bb gun, and also my dog is Camo! Well think dog wants me to get Camo stuff cause it is his colors...

Posted using Partiko Android

One day for sure... Got my eye on a digital Camo klx250 Kawasaki... One day... Or a Bb gun... Awwwww I can dream for sure!

Posted using Partiko Android

@the-bitcoin-dood, Good to know that you've bought new Computer. And with work music always is great companion because it reduces the stress levels.

Great to see that you do repairing work too. And definitely $300 dollar is too much. You ever modified your bike?

Have a great time ahead and stay blessed.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Thanks. I'm always puttering around with the bike. I make little tweaks here and there. Nothing major, but it's a hobby. I spend a lot of time wrenching on the bike for fun.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome and good to know that. And in my opinion when we do our own stuff with that we get satisfaction too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80