Ulog 007: Of Trusting the Process

in #ulog6 years ago

31230572_1619420121440150_4372672162146811904_o.jpg
Photo is by @chuuuckie. I look human here because of @anneporter.


Taking cue from @legendarryll's second ulog, I decided to dedicate my 7th ulog to the topic of trusting the process. I also have yet to share about my thoughts on the Steem Summit and so I figured that I would do both in this post. I will be straying off from my usual ulog posts with this one.

I remember when @ybanezkim26, @legendarryll, @honeyletsgo and I decided to meet up at The Bada to comfort ourselves with our failed attempts of getting Curie to notice us again. We drowned our frustrations from unmet expectations with good food and company. I didn't think that this little get-together would turn out to be a productive brainstorming session right when Kim shared to us that some of the core leaders asked him to help organize the next Steemit meet-up. Positive that the next event will yield a much greater turnout than the last, Kim thought of something BIG. Darryll eagerly jumped to Kim's ship tagging Honeylet along with him. I was sitting in my chair, inhaling the smoke from the Korean pork being grilled on our table still not convinced with the idea, yet. For one, I didn't think that four neophyte Steemians will be able to pull an event as big as what they had in mind and second, there were still so many things on my plate at that time, I couldn't possibly bite off more than what I was capable of chewing.

This slight resistance actually became my springboard to the process of elucidating their ideas into words. I wanted to make sense of the picture of the event in their imaginations -

"What objectives are we hitting for this event?"

"If I was a reputable Steemian, why will I support your cause?"

"Where will we get the money?"

"What is the relevance of this event to the platform itself?"

The way they answered my questions gave me the impression that they were willing to make this event happen - no matter what. This gave me the reason to think that this cause might be something worthwhile after all. I was tasked by Kim, the de facto leader of the group, to craft the event manifesto. We didn't have a name for the event yet, but we were going for the 'convention' level. I was still thinking about the overall relevance of the event to the platform until it hit me -

This could be Steemit in real life.

We were talking about passions and talents being showcased in one place, not necessarily experts in our respective fields but still beautiful enough to cause people to feel awe. We were talking about a place where everybody is celebrated because everybody had something to offer. We were thinking about learning more about the innovative technologies of the blockchain and cryptocurrency. This was a place where strangers so different yet so alike are able to connect. I actually liked what we had going then.

Had I dwelled on my initial doubts, I will never have had the chance to work with awesome people such as @legendarryll, @ybanezkim26 and @honeyletsgo. I trusted the process and thankfully, my co-organizers and I worked together to figure out how we can work our ways around each other.

This is the initial post of my Steem Summit X Ulog series. In the next posts, I will be telling you stories about the Steem Summit until we celebrate the event's first month anniversary.


Thanks for dropping by,
@thegaillery

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87