Hurricane Florence Turns [ulog #4]

in #ulog6 years ago

FlorenceSize.jpg
• SCREENSHOT FROM WINDY.COM

Hurricane Florence has turned. A couple of days ago, she was headed towards Richmond (Virgina), then West Virginia, and western Pennsylvania. Yesterday, the National Oceanic and Atomospheric Administration (NOAA) announced the storm had turned and would likely plow through North Carolina and head towards northeastern Tennessee and Kentucky. Today, it was announced that she had turned more and might go through the middle of South Carolina instead, making a beeline for me. 😱

FlorenceWind.jpg
• SCREENSHOT FROM NOAA

At least, I am five-hours from the coast, and Florence has now been downgraded to a Category 2 hurricane so much of her "punch" will be gone. Still, the possibility of high winds and rain has increased substantially for this area.

FlorenceRain.jpg
• SCREENSHOT FROM NOAA

Also, I do not live in a low-lying area that is prone to flooding, thankfully, so things should be okay here if electrical power holds. If it doesn't, I am prepared with oil-lamps, candles, camping lantern, cellphone chargers, and plenty of food that can be eaten without heating. From weathering storms in the past [see what I did there? 😁], I know enough to fill the bathtub with water for flushing the toilet and filling pots & pans with water for drinking & washing of hands.

FlorenceTime.jpg
• SCREENSHOT FROM NOAA

ThanksForReading.png 😊

incisel--PINK.png

a big hug is due to @enginewitty for designing the following personal banner for me 🤗

GoldenProjectBanner-advisor.jpg

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

__pearls.png

Sort:  

i am in north carolina but still in her trajectory and one hour from the coast so basically the same boat stay safe <3

Hopefully it won't hit you too hard. I'm sure it can be quite nerve wrecking waiting for it to hit and not knowing for sure how it will turn out. Sounds like you've put a lot of thought into preparing yourself for it though.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

I am in the Washington, DC area but have a house on the coast. I am not too worried as it is an old Victorian that has withstood many storms since it was built in 1869.

What a difference a day can make. The European model shows it much worse than ours, so I am guessing it is a crap shoot the way it will go down. Good luck to you and I hope neither one of us gets in much trouble with Florence.

Stay safe!

Stay safe, very scary it's a big one!

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and a resteem.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

You seem well prepared girl! What else to do? Board up the house?

Plastic plates and cutlery for not having water where my friends last year hahahaha... And a generator..i bought a generator... hurricanes suck!

I haven't been following this storm and I am late to see your post. I hope you fared okay in this, I know how bad hurricanes can be like Harvey last year here in Texas.

Actually, it is just getting started here. The first clouds & outer "rain bands" of the storm started coming through this area about 9 hours ago. I'm near the little heart in this screenshot from windy.com which shows the current extent of the storm, and the big arrow shows the projected path of the hurricane. Thanks for the well-wishes!

Florence.jpg

Well hang tight and watch for rising water if you are anywhere near any creeks or rivers. Wish you the best in a bad situation.

I read about Hurricane Florence that is hitting. Stay safe and protection upon all of you. How is it for you now, @thekittygirl?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09