Ulog#14| Wonderful Saturday

in #ulog6 years ago

image

I enjoyed today alot and to think i was disheartened when my boss told me I was to cover an event on Saturday, its not like i don't love to work but I already planned to sleep the weekend away since I kept nodding off at work like a sleep deprived idiot during the week.

I woke up at 5 am this morning and I just couldn't head off to slumberville again no matter how hard i tried so I decided to do my laundry instead, I finished all my chores, took my bath and head out around 11 am.

I got to work exactly an hour and half later, thank God for the unusual light traffic along the way, my colleague was waiting for me since we are to cover the event together

Luckily she brought her car so we headed to Victoria island at exactly 1 pm, I enjoyed the sea breeze on the third main land bridge and muttered a small prayer to God for the light traffic.

We got to the hall exactly 2 pm and after all the ceremony we were ushered in and to table 10 reserved for the media.
image
image

Nobody told me the event was a beauty pageant, these events are know for starting late so we had to sit and wait for the judges and event to start at 5 pm, I was freezing by then despite the blazer I wore but I eyed the slightly clad lady beside me and wondered if she wasn't cold.

Koffi and Helen Paul the MCs stepped out on stage to begin and i was disappointed that couldn't apologize on behalf of the organizers for starting late.

image

I nearly smacked some girls for calling the Japanese men seated at the next table Chinese, some Nigerians can be very ignorant.

The finalists of miss kanekalon beauty pageant stepped out and showed the guests some dance moves, if you're wondering what kanekalon is then it is a Japanese company that produces hair fibre like darling, expression, super star, rich braid etc.
image

They celebrate and crown an african lady miss kanekalon annually to help African women achieve their dreams, the winner goes home with the sum of one million naira, 1. 5 million tuition fee and will become a model of kanekalon automatically.
image.

Celebrities like Ngozi, Ronke oshodi oke, Brian and Ayo Adesanya graced the event and the finalists were not only beautiful, brilliant but also bold African women but I was more interested in the food😁😁😁.

image
image
image

We left there few minutes to seven, that was when I noticed the sea behind the building so I begged my colleague to chill for few minutes so I can gaze at the sea and breath in the fresh air.
image

I ran back to her after capturing few pictures and we headed back to the main land, she dropped me off at oshodi and went her own way, now I'm on the BRT back home, tired but fulfilled, it was such an interesting day.

Sort:  

Food is the most important part of any gathering... Call me a foodie ,I concur

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Lolz.... Food is heaven so i concur too

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13