Ditch the Eulogy, Start the Ulogy (YOU-logy): Day 1 - Hug A Stranger

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Photo source.

First of all, I would like to thank @surpassinggoogle for this initiative of letting everyone see the beauty in one’s self. I am one of those who have finally reached a point wherein, I no longer know what to write and is even in doubt with myself if I am really shaped to stay in this platform.

Also, we are often so constrained with the standards of the world that we tend to forget to look within ourselves; our simplicity and our personal contentment.

So, @surpassinggoogle, thank you!


Why Ulogy (You-logy) Over Eulogy?

As ironic as it may seems, people only speak the nicest things about you on your final days; when you can no longer hear them or you no longer have enough remaining time to thank them. Thus, personally, I do not really see the point of eulogies given during burial or funeral.

Do we really have to wait for a person to die before we tell them the good things about them and how they have influenced our lives? Do we have to wait for death for us to tell how we truly appreciate a person?

This is the reason why I am supporting the #ulog project or @surpassinggoogle as it improves not only how we see ourselves but also improves human connections which make the living experience a lot better.

So, feel good about yourself by making someone smile today. Share your sweetest smile to a stranger. Do not hesitate to give compliments. These little things will help you know yourself better and will allow you to lessen the hatred and instead spread love and happiness to the world.

Let us make this world a better place, full of love and positivity through Steemit!

My Ulog

Photo source

I Gave A Hug To A Stranger Today and It Feels Good

I worked as a call center agent for four years before I landed a job in the government. I may or may not have shared it in my previous posts but I just would like to highlight it as I have realized a lot of things today.
If there is something that I am very grateful for having an experienced in the call center industry is the fact that I was taught to always put the human experience first. You may or may not have resolved the issue of your customer but the kind of experience you have given them will greatly affect their satisfaction with your services.

So,earlier this morning, a woman was waiting for my boss and told me that she doesn’t have a scheduled appointment but she has something important to tell him. I felt that she is somehow in distress and I may have taken a hint when she told me that she is the wife of a certain doctor working in one of our hospitals..

I gave her a smile as I told her to wait for a while as my boss is still attending to something. When it was her turn, I called her in and since I sensed that it will be a long sensitive discussion, I chose to leave them in the room so they can talk privately.

When she came out from the office, she pulled me into a hug teary-eyed and told me the most sincere “thank you” I have ever heard my entire life. At first, I was shocked as I am not used to hugging people I do not know but then I realized that a hug is all she needed.

I was not aware what her problems are. I did not even asked her what is wrong or did not even attempt giving her pieces of advice. I just hugged her back without saying any words. I may have not resolved her problems but letting her know that there is still someone willing to listen to her is such a great impact.

Human connections and human experiences are very important and it is one of the most important lessons I have learned in the call center industry. You have to value your customers because it is the least that you could do especially if it is impossible for you to resolve their needs.

Public service goes beyond what the government can do to the people. It goes beyond what the system can offer. Often times, it only requires a heart and the willingness to listen, help and to serve.

My Realizations, My Ulog

Ulog is a celebration of ourselves and our oneness with the community. Our secrets, our dreams. It also include our learnings and our inspirational interactions that help us understand our true selves.

My encounter with the woman today allowed me to realize that comforting someone does not only console that person’s heart. It also provides a unique kind of fulfillment within me which can never be measured by any achievements in the world. It offers a ripple effect that provides happiness not only to the person being being comforted by also to the one comforting.

Thus, we really have to be kind with anyone that we encounter in our day to day lives because most of these people may be smiling but they are struggling deep within.

Let me leave this famous quote from an unknown author;

Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.

About the Author


If you want to know how Steemit influenced my life,
you may check my previous post here.

You can also check this post including this link for more Steemit tips.

I write fiction stories and poems too!
I would really appreciate it if you would check them out.

Also, please drop your comments and suggestions for my next post.
I would love to hear all your thoughts.

Let us make this interactive!



Oh, by the way, penny for my thoughts?

Steemit overtime today. Less than a month before classes start!

Enjoy the rest of your day. Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Well that was a very nice thing you did for a stranger.

Sometimes all we need to do with someone is to give our wordless support and sympathy to turn a potentially bad day to something good.

You are such a great person.

Thank you @maverickinvictus! Hope you are doing good:) I miss you!

Congratulations @valerie15, your post have been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.
You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.

If you would like to delegate to Best of PH you can do so by clicking on the following links.

100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.

See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

thank you so much @bestofph!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79