#ULOG DAY 7 / FROM VISION TO HOBBY WENT TO MONEY

in #ulog6 years ago

Phase I
IMG_20180707_093216.jpg

phase II
IMG_20180707_093228.jpg

Phase III
IMG_20180707_093240.jpg

Finish
IMG_20180707_093257.jpg

Sculptor
IMG_20180707_093601.jpg

Selfie with the sculptor
IMG_20180707_093551.jpg

This is how we meet...

I was walking to the place where I always gone every Saturday.

I saw a man forming a statue using cement, sand, screen and iron bar with his bare hands.

INTERVIEW BEGIN!

While he took his break time by eating his snacks...

vhinz88: Hello sir, may I know your name and where you live in?

sculptor: yeah, I'm Jake from Hindang, Leyte.

I stop by with him and conversation start...

vhinzs88: did you go to school to study what you did today?

Jake: No!

vhinz88: Is your father an sculptor?

Jake: No!

vhinz88: so, how did you learn doing this good works?

Jake: l was a nautical but after finishing my contract I had a hard time applying again so I decided to work in Dubai as factory worker and I succeed.

vhinz88: and... then,

Jake: on my almost 7 months abroad I was always thinking of statues, many different and beautiful statues and I saw myself forming them but I always neglected my thoughts thinking that I don't have any idea how to do it.

But there are times I found myself like a statue, in deep thoughts thinking those vision about the statues.

I finished the contract and I did not apply again.

In the Philippines, In my house, I was interested doing sculpting a face of man and woman using the laundry soap PERLA, my wife got angry because bar soap for laundry became a little bit powder.

vhinz88: Hahahahha (laughing) but I'm so interested this moment...

Jake: I found a candle melting while giving light and my mind spark like... Oh I have new instrument to my hobby. Candle wax!

So that time, I started using candle sculpting faces of man and woman at different ages and when finished I easily melt the wax and form another one.

VOLUNTEER

People in the church were trying to find someone to volunteer rearranging and repairing wooden statues in the church. To my interest, I voluntarily do the work.

After two days working as volunteer, someone approaches me and said, "majolica ka Pala sa sculpture, my libro ako tungkol dyan, pari dati ang may-ari pero iniwan nya sa akin, Hindi ko naman hilig kaya sayo nayon".

After doing my work, I went to his house and yes! totoo nga! I was happy having a book of my interest.

vhinz88: so, you've got a bridge for your perfect work (sculpting)

Jake: yes, then, I learn about the angle, measurements, proportion etc. I learn them from the book giving to me.

JOB

someone from the church I volunteered asking me if I can make a statue, this time is not a wooden but a concrete statue. To my surprise I said yes! (I did not say that this is my first time)

On my first day, I hardly finish one face in one day because I work and stop... work and stop... and again and again... job done in along days... hard but I can see my work slowly improving.

Years passed by, this job provide my family needs and now I can say, I am perhaps near to an expert doing sculpture.

vhinz88: I clap my hands for him and for telling me his good life story.

I convinced him to be a steemian, I told him about ULOG and Mr. Tery as @surpassinggoogle and he ask me a lot regarding STEEMIT.

until next time @ULOG

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vhinz88 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for introducing Jake to us. He is talented, and I love the way you captured him creating the beautiful statue.

Hello @vhinz88, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84