My First Ever ULOG a Trip to The Grocery Store On Venezuela... #Ulog1

in #ulog6 years ago

imageedit_1_9586992472.png


When You dont Know What To Post... do an ULog!


Do an Ulog they said, it would be easier they said, it would help you when you don’t have any material for a post they said, it turns out is not so easy to write an Ulog, why? Cause it is mostly about me, my day, my feelings and well first of all my life is so boring and second, I procrastinate like a lot when I write so this post actually took 3 days to make.

and not only writing but formating the whole thing it takes me forever to do it.

imageedit_3_5745523001.png


Ok so first things first let’s get the What’s an ULOG? out of the way.

Ulogs are simply steemit posts containing logs of YOU. The tag is an initiative of @surpassinggoogle, to me an Ulog is a way to help Steemians that like me are not professional bloggers, talented artist and really have no idea on what to post so instead of do the very bad things like Copy/Paste or Plagiarize something, you now have the opportunity to do an Ulog a post that is about YOU, so it should be easy to be original and that is what SteemIt is all about **originality.**



The best part is that according to @ulogs

You don't need to have a camera and the right selfie-stick or right poutty-lips etc to document or record your awesomeness each day, for you have your very handy, ever-present memory, hearts and minds; thus, you can record all that happened each day; all that involves "you", in entire steemit posts called "Ulogs", whether you were able to create a Vlog or not, because it’s all about "Ulogs" now.

imageedit_4_4130826976.png

Here are some posts that explain more on what an Ulog is and how to correctly created a Ulog post


So here we go with my first Ulog ever…

I thought a lot about what to make this post about my day is usually really boring, so to write about me laying in bed all day didn’t seem like a good idea, but then @sunravelme gave me a few ideas one of those was this one:

“You talked about how much it sucks about going to the grocery store... take your camera and record, talk about what it was like before and what it is now”
So that is the idea that inspire this post/Ulog thank you @sunravelme 😊


My Trip to the Grocery Store in Venezuela


There will be not vids of this because my phone got stolen a while back and my current phone a Blackberry 9360 (don’t laugh cuz is not funny) has his camera broken like maybe disconnected I don’t know it won’t work so… I guess I could have used my BF camera a Samsung PL120 but going around walking on the streets in this country with a camera recording is not a good idea unless you want it to get stolen


To give you context if you don’t live in Venezuela and don’t know about our crisis this should explain it a little bit.


minimum wage in Bolivaresvalue of 1 US $ / Bs.minimum wage in US $
5.196.000
3.700.000
1.4

the minimum wage is for a month of work, and the value of the US $ is taken from the black market to this day 12-07-2018 since this value keeps changing almost daily is possible that by the time you are reading this post the US $ is worth a lot more than what is says in here


So, I needed to get some food and have to go to several groceries stores, why several? Well you see when you are in a super inflation kind of situation the recommendation is to go to several stores so you can find different prices, what it may cost you 1$ in one store could cost you 0.9$ in another, and to add to the super inflation we are currently living in here we have also a shortest of food and well of everything so if I’m looking for corn flour it may take me a trip to several stores to find it (corn flour is the main ingredient for the Arepas so is a must have in every home in Venezuela).

I only had 11.800.000,00 Bolivares so approximately 3.18 US$, yeah to buy food you can already do the math and guess I didn’t get much with that, so first I went to store where they in the past allow me to pay with a credit card (credit cards are mostly not allow in smalls stores I have not freaking clue onto why they say is cause the % that is cut from the final payout for them is to high so the lose money when the pass a credit card). But is me people and my luck is just not existent so obviously they weren’t allowing the credit card today, so I could only pay with a debit card and well like I said I only had approx. 3.18 US$, so in that store I end buying half a pound of mortadella and that cost me 4.000.000,00 Bs or 1,08 US$, I was actually looking to buy the corn flour I told you we use to make Arepas, because in my house we eat Arepas for breakfast and for diner you’ll see with a pound and a half of that flour we could make approximately 20 to 25 Arepas depending on the size of them, and in my house are living 4 people at the moment (my Boyfriend, his mom and dad and myself) so a pound and a half of corn flour should last for at least 3 days and one pound and half of said flour cost 1.300.000,00 Bs. And a piece of baguette bread costs 1.000.000,00 Bs. So, it is cheaper to buy the flour.

I had to walk through 4 different stores looking for the corn flour (don’t tell my Bf I did that, cause he is in a “you are not allow to walk alone in the streets cause you may fall and could hurt the baby” kind of mood) the first 2 didn’t have it the 3rd one had it but in there the price for a pound and a half ( I’m doing this posts in pounds but we use kilograms in this country) was of 1.500.000 Bs. So, I just choose to keep walking to see if I could find it a little bit cheaper, and yes, I did! I ended up buying it at 1.300.000 Bs or 0.35 US$ so I bought 2 a total of 3 pounds for 0.70 US$.

If you are keeping track I have already spend 6.600.000 Bs out of the 11.800.000 Bs. I had, so what to buy with the remaining 5.200.000 Bs or 1.40 US$? I remember we didn’t have any butter at home and Arepas without butter are just not as yummy lol, so in my quest to find me some butter with a good price I had this realization I should buy some chocolate cause I’m pregnant and I deserve some chocolate is like not easy to grow a human without any chocolate, so there I was looking for butter and chocolate I already knew the price of the butter 2.200.000 Bs it was the same in almost all the stores so I when and got one butter and at the same store ended up buying the chocolate!! I was so happy the chocolate was 70gr and it cost me 1.500.000 Bs. So, i had left 1.500.000 Bs. To buy something else I needed some garlic and an instant chicken flavor soup.



So, there I spend 11.800.000 Bs. On 3 pounds of corn flour, 1 pound of butter, half a pound of mortadella, a 70gr chocolate, an instant chicken flavor soup and some garlic.

Keep in mind that 11.800.000 Bs. Is 2 times a minimum wage (for a month) in this country and what I just bought will only last for a week approximately (the chocolate didn’t even last an hour lol I ate that so fast it was sad) so yeah is not easy to live here, but hey I have steemit so I can’t complain there are other that are far worse than me!

And there you go that was my trip to the grocery store in Venezuela, I did this post to created awareness of how bad the situation in my country is, since the government tries to make it seem like is all rainbows and flowers and everything is ok and the news don’t talk about our situation, we are responsible for spreading the word and make people see that we are in a crisis so that then maybe there is enough pressure to our government to allow some humanitarian help in here or start changing the attituded towards our economy.



This was my first Ulog hopefully I did it right.


Like always thank you so much for reading me and
I look forward to reading your comments!


Picture Credit: All images were made with Bitmoji.com!

I used THIS awesome MarkDown Tutorial for the formatting of this post and THIS one for the use of the Bitmojis! both by the awesome @carrieallen ( Ihave to give credit to find her blog to @crystalpacheco30 )


Banner (2).png


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by VictoriaBSB from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wow! We don't actually hear much from the local population about how they are living with hyperinflation other than the video of long lines and unrest. Thanks for giving me a new perspective from your view.

thank you so much for reading and caring enough to actually be interested in learning about our situation in here!

omg i was so not asking for money you don't need to send me any!!! i am grateful so so grateful but it was no necessary!

No worries. It wasn't a lot of money and if it helps, then I am happy.

thank you so so much it does help like you have not idea! thank you is so kind of you!

Oh i feel u on what to blog about haha. And you never know what blog will do the best. Congratulations on the new addition to your family, im sure u will have lots to blog about once the little bundle of joy arrives ❤🤱

i never expect for a post to do well, i do all the posts mostly for me cause if i just wait for a post to do well and it doesnt then i will get mad especially if said post took me forever to write. thank you so much for the comment! and yeah bet when he comes out that will be the best post i will make =)

It's enlightening to hear about this situation directly from someone who lives in Venezuela...because I am not sure what to believe elsewhere online. If only they would let some humanitarian aid inside! Stay strong...things will get better. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99