Ulog #2: My Face Reveal After 150 Days in Steemit

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

20180517_130322-01-1280x720-02-640x360.jpeg

To remain anonymous or not?

Learning about the immutability and the public nature of the blockchain, I decided to post anonymously in Steemit. I hid in masks, filters and even a sleep eye cover. Those were the only photos you would see of me.

I wanted to remain safe and protected with these masks. Why I felt the need to, I believe stems from my anxieties. I worry that someone might cyberbully me. Or someone might hurt me.

Click on the image if you want to check out my Intro post

And then a few months ago, I got a legal threat due to an innocent post title (coincidence in using 2 words). That event only magnified my fears of the future.

Will I get sued? Is this done by a fellow Steemian? We investigated and found some connections. Could this be crab mentality even if I'm not even successful yet? I did my research and the more I wanted to hide.

As you can see, I have anxiety issues. But somehow my rational self fights it. Why should I hide when I did nothing wrong?

The initial reason for my masks is for my own protection. But I found myself fearing which isn't what my initial goal was. I used the mask to feel safe and not because I fear.

20180311_131638-1632x918.jpgMaking a Dtube video for my Sndbox quest at a mall...with a masked on

A Big Step that I Hope to not Regret

Aside from challenging myself to come out there and face these fears, I contemplated on how I can blog and vlog freely unmasked. Most of what I write is personal and I guess it would more of my personality if I could have this (face) revelation. I would also like to explore vlogging and it will be more comfortable to do without a mask, especially in public.

It wasn't an easy decision unlike those who were open since their introduction post. But I will just let it be. I made this decision and I'll try not to worry.

So here's my verification photo after 150+ days. Nice to meet you all!

20180517_130322-01-1280x720.jpeg

20180517_130500-01-1280x720.jpeg

I used the introduceyourself tag because it felt like introducing another part of myself. Please let me know if this isn't appropriate for the tag and I will remove it. Thanks!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem, @wanderlass!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2587 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : May Budget Proposal.

You're beautiful. :) Nice to finally "see" you. Good decision to do the face reveal but you look good in the mask too. Have a nice day! :)

Thank you :) I also like the mask, I have 3 for Steemit lol. Have a nice day too!


Hello @wanderlass!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 6 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information on Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!

Hello I have removed it. But I only did 2 introduce yourself, because I had a reintroduction (my first intro was wrong/crap and I didn't really introduced myself). And I think the other one was for a contest of new Steemians months ago when I was starting. Do you also count when I mention # (hashtag) introduceyourself?

Anyway, this is noted. I didn't know it can only be used once.

Glad to know your real you now @wanderlass , you look nice and cool just continue being yourself and enjoy creating valuable content for this platform and your followers . Am glad to know you better now

Thank you and I appreciate your nice words. I'll strive to create more valuable content :)

Welcome to Steemit, wanderlass! I wish you a great journey here on this platform :) Have fun!

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you. I'm not new though but my first time to show my face. :)

You are very welcome. Thank you for showing your face. It is very beautiful :)

I can see you now :P

I haven't seen you yet :p

someday someday!!
I once put my pic in one of my posts but someone told me it will stay forever and ever so I removed it.

Lol that would scare me too. So I really thought about this decision :)

Finally the reveal, we get to see the person behind @wanderlass.. Welcome again! Nice dress by the way and love the mask!

Thank you! I might miss not wearing that cute mask though lol

Welcome! You are reborn!! 😝 Lawsuits??? People are a little bit overboard I guess. You can show your face or not.?its your choice. If anyone has a problem let me know!!

I agree, it was way overboard. And some suspect that it may be extortion too. And thanks, I will surely let you know if anyone has a problem with this #teamgirlpowa :)

Oh, nice to meet you dear! 💕
I'm happy you made this big step and you are very brave! Congratulations! 😊

Nice to meet you too for the 2nd time in the Steemit world :D Thanks for the encouragement :)

Yes!!! You did it at last!!!
And what was all that legal crap about!!

So far I'm happy I did :D

That was someone threatening me because I coincidentally combined 2 words in my post title which was the same name of her business. There was no ill intention on my part and I wasn't offering any service similar to her business. It was crap but that threat stressed me during that time.

Honestly???!!!!

She should be grateful to you for mentioning her business in your post! 😏

And I could have promoted her here in Steemit because the business was a travel agency. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87