#Ulog Ep. 6 - While You Sleep

in #ulog6 years ago

My share for @surpassinggoogle's #ulog celebrating you and life.

When the clock hits 3:00 am the alarm on my phone rings. I hit snooze just to have a couple of minutes more. It rings again and tell myself five more minutes please. I doze off a bit and once again it rings telling me that it will not stop until I get up, "Wake up you need to make money." I drag myself off from bed and my wife also wakes up and prepares me a meal before I fight the day. A lot of people are probably still dreaming at this time. I prepare to face the struggle of another day.

While You Sleep

1.jpg

No car to drive I head to the streets to catch my ride to work. Just me, the street lights and my shadow. A couple of street dogs along the way who doesn't mind me passing each day. I wait for a couple of minutes to catch the early morning bus. Minutes pass still no bus and I begin to worry a couple more minutes and I'll be late. Finally a bus arrives I take my ride but the wait does not stop. More waiting time as the bus gathers more passengers before leaving. A stop every other block is frustrating but still can't blame him as he is also earning a living this early morning.

3.jpg

I reach my destination an export zone full of factories and plants. The dark streets are still empty and I often walk in the middle of the street. Guided by the street lamps I again walk to reach the office. It always plays on my mind the chance of getting mugged I just shrug off the thought of it as there is nothing I could do. If it happens it happens and I won't fight it as it is not worth it. Carrying stuff from the office just take it and let me be. I adapt and learn to watch my back every step. Eyes on each corner and distance myself when I sense danger. I scary thought each day I walk the streets but simply must face it each passing day.

4.jpg

Not a soul in sight and the silence is like enchantment that I learned to adore. When morning comes this places comes alive with factory workers and large trucks that pass by. But for now the streets are mine and I walk the middle of the street like a vampire at night.

5.jpg

My shadow is my companion and my thoughts keeps swimming about life and how it could be better. Pleasant thoughts of a simple but comfortable life. Living near the ocean and enjoying the gifts of the land. Waking up with a cool ocean breeze and crystal clear waters.

I must still be dreaming while walking but I must wake up and face the day ahead.

6.jpg

A lot of fruit trees around the area. This mango has fallen off the tree and rested on this fire hydrant or someone has picked it up and just left it here. I have seen workers fallen off a tree and fell on a parked car all for a fruit. They never caught him as he ran away leaving a dent on the roof of a car. Life goes on.

7.jpg

We continue on each day with goals and dreams to achieve. We brave out the night, we sacrifice our time which cannot be taken back. Each tick of the clock are seconds taken off of our time in this world. Still we go on and refuse to roll over and die.

We survive, we find ways
We hurt, we love
We comfort, we desire
We are vulnerable, we are human

8.jpg

My life and challenge. I fight each day and never give up hoping for a beautiful morning one day.
I could almost smell the ocean with my head clear of worries of the day ahead.

I must be dreaming again. I'd better wake up soon as it is a long day and I am almost near the office.

People might still be dreaming at this time but I also dream while I walk the dark lonely streets at night.

9.jpg


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

ViVo V7

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-10T12:10:24
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 633.18/800.00
Total Photos: 45
Total comments: 55
Total contest wins: 8
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Man, I thought I had it rough getting up at 5 am to go to work. I don't think I could do 3! Is it a pretty safe area where the factory is? I am not sure I would feel safe walking around in the dark like that. Great post and very nice pictures. You captured the trip to your job very effectively.

Inside the zone it is quite secure but the challenge is on the way to the zone. A lot of dark alleys. I always keep on thinking what to do if ever the unfortunate happened. A lot of stories about stick ups in busses. Especially during the December season.

Well, be safe out there!

Thanks mate. Hope I could save up in the future for a used car to make travel feel more safe and secure.

Wishing for a day when Steem can help make all your dreams come true.

If it reaches the moon. I hope we could visit and meet you 😊

That would be so much fun! I remain hopeful that it will happen!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 23 SBD worth and should receive 94 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you truffle pig bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39