ULOG 11: The accidental swim & Garden Harvest update

in #ulog6 years ago

So, the filter at our ancient swimming pool was starting to plug up a bit.

  • We pump water from the pool, up the hill to the filter / chemical house.
    It then flows through a sand filter and we inject chemicals into it.
    It then gravity flows back down the hill to the pool.
    • It slowly plugs up and the water gets deeper and deeper on top of it.
      When this happens we use a rake on it.
      This is usually good for a couple of weeks.
      If it gets too bad, we backwash it to clean it.
      • This particular day it was needing raked.
        So, I picked up a long handled rake and over the knee wading boots.
        Took a few things out of my shirt pocket, so they wouldn't fall out.
        Step off onto the concrete trough.
        Rake Rake Rake
        Take a couple of baby steps...
        Rake Rake Rake
        Take a couple of baby steps...
        Rake Rake Rake
        Take a couple of baby steps...
        Rake Rake Rake
        Take a couple of baby steps...
        Slip ever so slightly with one foot
        step step step really quick
        almost catching my balance
        but nope
        off in the water I go
  • haha I bet it would have been hilarious to watch.
    • Unfortunately, I hadn't emptied all my pockets.
      So my phone got a bit wet
      and then when I got back to the water plant it got hot
      and now it won't turn on.
    • Fortunately, I still have my old phone.
      So, I've switched the simm card
      and have it charging
      so I can reactivate it
    • Unfortunately, the reason I switched phones is because this one has a battery that's starting to get weak.
      I only make it about 6 hours, where it used to and the one that got wet used to last all day, then I would quick charge it a bit when I got home and it would be good until I went to bed.
    • Unfortunately, the engineer who designed this phone should be fired.
      The battery is not replaceable.
      • Fortunately I have a spare charger I can use at work to make it through the day.
      • Fortunately I had a spare change of clothes at work...

So that's how I spent my afternoon...
Accidentally taking a swim...

I had to work 4 more hours of overtime, so that puts me up to 31 hours OT for 2 weeks.
Uncle Sam is so happy I earned him some extra taxes!!!

Morning Garden Harvest update

GardenJournal - WizarDave.jpeg

The wife had the day off, so wanted to cook up the cauliflower from our garden.
We had a whacky spring, so only 1 of the 6 cauliflower plants made it.
5 of the broccoli (We've already harvested the big heads and quite a few side shoots)
4 of the cabbage...

The cauliflower head was getting big, so I used long grass to tie the leaves up around the head to keep it blanched (white).
Here's what I harvested this morning and just ate for supper.

IMG_20180703_073852528.jpg

IMG_20180703_074153785_HDR.jpg

The cabbage heads are about 5 or 6 inches.

IMG_20180703_074200647.jpgIMG_20180703_074204095.jpg

Some days are like a roller coaster.


The good news is tomorrow is July 4th, a holiday in the USA, so I get the day off.

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

Speaking of @dustsweeper. If you happen to comment, be sure to let me know if you are using it.
That way I can upvote you my 2 cents and it will raise that up so it's not dust and you will actually get paid. Otherwise, I won't waste a vote on your comment. Make sense? If not, maybe you need to read this information...

look.gif

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veteran-60.jpg


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I'm sure it would have been a big laugh had anyone witnessed it, but had it been me, I would have been royally annoyed. Annoyed that I'm raking a swimming pool in the first place. A swimming pool that should be closed down.

On the other hand, working overtime and having the pool be a part of the work that provides job security, well, 31 hours of OT is nothing to sneeze at.

Even if Uncle Sam gets more than his share.

So, I guess we'll call the accidental swim a draw. Except for the ongoing issue of the phone. Maybe take a point away on that one. :)

Nice progress with the garden. We don't have any cauliflower or broccoli, so to see anything other than fruit ready for harvest already is pretty cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62482.14
ETH 3044.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76