ULOG: 15 Salvaged a grill.

in #ulog6 years ago

A friend got a new grill, so he offered me his old one. It really is in pretty good shape. Just needed new burn tubes and covers.

  • 2 sets of these tubes $8.78 each.
  • 2 sets of these covers $12.88 each
    • $45 or so and I have a perfectly working grill.
      • I have a perfectly working charcoal grill and much prefer charcoal over gas. But having a gas grill is handy when you are in a rush. So, I am happy to have both!

Taking it for a test drive...

IMG_20180708_133000093.jpg

It worked like a champ. Here you see:

  • pork shoulder steaks
  • dry rub chicken leg quarters
  • cheesy brats
  • hamburgers soon to be cheeseburgers
  • fresh zucchini from the garden
    • The green ones turned out as wonderful as always.
      • This is my first year growing yellow crook neck. The skin was tough. And the seed pocket had to be spooned out. Maybe I shouldn't have waited for them to turn gold?

I don't use BBQ sauce very often. I liberally use garlic powder, pepper and salt.

  • When the waitress asks if I want any steak sauce, I ask her back, "Do I need it? Because, if I do, maybe I should just order a burger..."

We also shared a dozen of my yellow Sun Gold cherry tomatoes fresh from the garden! YUM!

Jackpot while picking up the grill parts.

Walmart had marked down their shrubs to $1 each!!!

  • The $21 Holly bush... $1
  • The 3 2.5 gallon Plumosa Compacta junipers... $1 each
    • I'm pretty sure I see a lot of these around that have been planted too close to houses. People usually do a hack job on them trying to keep them small enough to fit where they planted them. Easy solution, always read the tag to see what the spread is!
      • I'm a journeyman lineman, so I'll pass along another tidbit about planting trees. Look up before you do. If there are any power lines, just don't! Nothing more than a 20 foot tree, if there is. Don't they look awful after being trimmed away from the powerlines?!?!?!?
  • The 6 2.5 gallon Blue Rug junipers... $1 each
  • The 2.5 gallon Red Twig Dogwood... $1

My transplanted evergreens both died, so I was glad to get such a good deal on these evergreens.

  • The junipers went in front of the house.
    • Blue Rug, Plumosa Compacta, BR, PC, BR in front of the deck.
    • Holly northwest corner of the house.
      • Going east, PC then a BR then 2 more BR's by the bird bath by the steps.
  • The dogwood out back in my shrub row. I didn't realize it gets so big(6-9 feet tall, 8-12 feet spread).
    • That should be pretty cool next to my smaller (5-6 foot tall and spread) yellow twig dogwood!
      That is IF it (the yellow one) makes it. It's not looking too good...

Kitty pic

Caught the kitty playing with a toothbrush of all things...
IMG_20180707_235432712.jpg

That was pretty much my day.

Hope you had a wonderful day, too!
Life is good!!!

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

Speaking of @dustsweeper. If you happen to comment, be sure to let me know if you are using it.
That way I can upvote you my 2 cents and it will raise that up so it's not dust and you will actually get paid. Otherwise, I won't waste a vote on your comment. Make sense? If not, maybe you need to read this information...

look.gif

wizsmall.png
Who I am

@WizarDave
veteran-60.jpg


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 23.48% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

GREAT job recycling the grill!
I am a firm believer in reusing and re-purposing EVERYTHING you can.

$40 is a steal for a gas grill. I think we paid $75 for our kettle style charcoal grill.

Thanks. Yes, it was quite the deal. This is I'm guessing a $300+ grill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75