ULOG: 16 Got my chess game going again!

in #ulog6 years ago

Wo! I feel good!

Something to listen to while you read...

I've been playing chess again...

I played a lot in high school then got away from it for hmm about 4 decades.
@firstjabi2 recently turned me on to https://www.chess.com/

  • They even have a great phone app!
    Play chess with people from all over the world.
    • In high school I was a 1200 player.
      Now it appears I'm about a 900 player.
      You can read more about ratings on Wikipedia.
      • The past couple of days I've been losing big time. :(
        Today I've been kicking butt and taking names! :D
        So, I feel good!

Chess 2018-07-09.PNG

Thinking out loud

I wonder is someone will develop chess on the Steem blockchain?
That would be coooool!!!

The rest of the story...

ulogs by @surpassinggoogle is all about sharing your life.
Here's the rest of what's going on with me today...

I'm already into a 15 hour work day. It looks like I may work another 2 or 3 hours.
I work at a water plant. We sell water to everyone in my town and another nearby town and to the rural water supply in part of our county.
Rural water is pulling about 86 gallon a minute (gpm) from us.
I only produce about 260 gpm.
I texted the wife about 3 1/2 hours ago that my tower was at 29.2 feet.
It actually dipped down a bit lower and right now is the first time I've gained.
I'm at 29.3! woohoo
Oh well.
Sleep is overrated.
Uncle Sam & I are liking the overtime checks!
Oops back down to 29.1. Ugh!
Yup Yup back up to 29.2. Whew!
(32 feet is full...)

In between running test and checking on the plant, I do get to do a bit of Steemit and play some chess...

  • Earlier I did a post about a bombshell some bombshell news.
    • Tomorrow a witness is coming forward with a press conference claiming he can identify 2 people who murdered Set Rich. Both current federal government employees, 1 working for the ATF and the other working for the DEA.
      • Whew! That is some MajorNews!!!
        look.gif

        Life is Good!
        It is my sincere wish that
        your life is good, too!!!

look.gif

Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote

Speaking of @dustsweeper. If you happen to comment, be sure to let me know if you are using it.
That way I can upvote you my 2 cents and it will raise that up so it's not dust and you will actually get paid. Otherwise, I won't waste a vote on your comment. Make sense? If not, maybe you need to read this information...

look.gif

|

wizsmall.png
Who I am
@WizarDave |
veteran-60.jpg
| |
| - | - | - |

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Wow, I amazed myself with this win...
Brilliant!!!
Screenshot_20180709-234020.png

You get points just for linking to James Brown!

It's been a long time since I've played chess, but probably a little less than four decades, since I know I've played against one or both of the boys in at least the last 15 years. Possibly the last 10. I think unless you're in high school or for some reason play it in college, it's not one of those things that regularly comes up. Friends or family members would need to want to play it, and there's just so many other games, particularly of chance, that doesn't require as much skill so they somehow even out the odds of winning.

I'm glad you're having fun playing the game, though.

I'm not sure if you're having fun watching the water tower measurement going up and down or not. Are you the only employee of this water plant, or is the other guy gone? I would think at some point your employer would prefer not to pay you overtime.

Checks should be good. Doesn't leave so much time, though. I've done and sometimes still do fifteen hour days. I can walk away if I want to. I just don't want to. :)

It's been too long of a day to remember which ones, but you see chess being played in some of the older shows and movies. I'm thinking of some of the old western shows... My 10 year old grandson has learned to play, so that will be fun teaching him some moves and strategies...

The boss worked 12 hour days this weekend.
I hit him up about going to 10 hour days this morning and he didn't really jump at the idea.
There's him and one other guy that can run the plant.
Another guy has passed his test, but the boss has never got him up here to get trained. A couple days training, he could get in the rotation.
::shrug::
My pickup needs ball joints, so the OT check is welcome.
And you know... the wife... probably needs a purse or shoes or something. haha
And Uncle Sam, well how's he gonna pay for all those BS wars we are always in if someone doesn't work some OT so he can take big chunks from those checks? ::shrug::

Back in '95 when I first started webmastering, I would work 24 hours, sleep 8-12 hours, get up and do it again and again and again. But I'm 20 some years older now and it is a bit tougher! haha

I've never made it to working 24 hours straight, thankfully. The closest I spent to staying up for a 24 hour period was 32-33 years ago the year I went to college. I had a new roommate that introduced me to Dungeons and Dragons and we spent one night playing until something like 5 am. Not a particularly proud moment of my life, and while I think I had fun, I never played the game again. :)

Now, I can manage 12-14 hour days in front of the computer, but any major amount of labor, no way. Slim down, get into shape, I'm still behind the age curve—just to slim down and get into shape, let alone do something afterward.

Excuses, excuses, but fortunately, I'm not looking at hours of menial labor digging ditches or chucking 100 lbs. bales like I did for a few days one summer. I actually remember those days fondly. :)

Seems like there's always something to spend the money on. Life has a way of ensuring that somehow.

Overtime is great for the check, no doubt about it. And yeah, the government manages to get more than I care to give it. At any rate, it would still be nice at some point that the untrained guy get some experience so the rest of you don't need to be working the long hours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43