Learning About Christmas Traditions - In Search of Christmas (Day 1)

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)



A few nights ago we decided it was time to find my Christmas Spirit that had disappeared a few years ago. I did the gift thing for my GrandGeorges, children, and parents, but there was nothing else really done except a video for our blog. However, except for the giant tree in the background, you really could not tell it was Christmas. What had happened to cause me to not be excited for the holiday? This I am not sure, but I am determined to find the spirit again.




This year I have decided to search for my Christmas Spirit. I am missing the carols, lights, and various celebration activities. Join me over the next three weeks as I share my journey to end the Grinch I have become.

lights.png


Tonight, since we are having to sit still and recuperate from being ill, we decided it would be a great time to watch videos about how other cultures celebrate the holiday. What better way to do this than by starting out with a video by Rick Steves who got us excited about travel. Mr. Steves shared special holiday celebrations in France, London, Germany, Bavaria, and Italy.



I found this very interesting at how different we are in many things such as food and gift types, but we are so alike when it comes to the decorations and ideas of tradition. One of the things that caught my attention was the use of candles and lights. I know this is because the days are shorter and the night is longer, but it still caught me a bit off guard. Here in the States, we put up lights that are different colors and we do it in excess; yes, I admit it, we do so many things in excess, but I digress. (See what I did there @buddyup?)

I found Saint Lucia's Day to be extremely interesting. When I was younger I was so concerned for these young ladies who would walk around with lit candles upon their heads. "Why would anyone do that?" I would ask my mother. She would merely tell me that it was their holiday tradition. I know now that is parent-speak for "I just don't know and I don't have time to find out." Now that I am a grandmother I am assuming someday I might be asked by the GrandGeorges so I looked into the tradition a bit deeper.

candlesline.png

stlucy.png

In 304 AD a young woman, the now Saint Lucia, was martyred for her faith. She would take food to the persecuted Christians living in the catacombs in Rome. It is said that she would wear a crown of candles upon her head so her hands were free and it helped to light her way. Saint Lucia Day is celebrated on December 13 by young girls and women wearing white dresses tied with a red sash around the waist and a crown of candles and Lingonberries. They process through the towns singing carols bringing smiles to everyone they meet.



I would like to experience this activity, but being in Tulsa I do not know if I can find a place celebrating this activity here. I have contacted the Swedish Community in Oklahoma to see if there is information there for me to find a celebration going to happen.

gingerbread.png


sinterklass.png


One of the words I kept coming across was Sinterklaas. This is a character based upon Saint Nicolas who is the patron saint of children. December 6 is the day of the Feast of Sinterklaas with the giving of gifts. For us here in the States, we really do not celebrate this. However, we do march our children to Santa Clauses in the malls and parties to have them request specific gifts from him. One of the things I saw in the Rick Steves video was the children interacting with Sinterklaas where he asked them what they wanted, but he also asked what they were going to leave him and his reindeer. I found that interesting. As my children were growing up, we would leave cookies and milk for Santa. Never had I thought of leaving a snack for the deer!



Here in Tulsa we have the Santa House in Utica Square Mall. I am thinking it would be a great time to take the GrandGeorges there to celebrate the Feast of Sinterklaas. We could partake on gingerbread and hot cocoa as we walk around the mall looking at the dioramas of the Nutcracker Suite that have been part of our Christmas tradition since I was a child. Maybe I should take something for Santa and some carrots for his raindeer.

green.png

green.png


One of the things I found to be a common tradition across the globe is the hanging of the green. Many of the churches decorate their sanctuaries by hanging wreaths and boughs. It is seen as representing everlasting life by Christians and pagans alike. I found the listing of the greenry used HERE. There are so many different varieties evergreens, holly, Mistletoe, and so many others used in wreathes, crowns, and garlands.

547386_10200156909546360_1027273003_n.jpg


Our last Christmas tree was in 2012 and we had some old family ornaments from when I was a child. When we downsized, we gave these to our daughter in Texas because we just didn't see a need for them while we traveled. We were fortunate that our daughter and my parents decorated for the holidays and we did not need to find a place to store them in our RV. Unfortunately, we now do not have any type of decorations so our apartment is void of any holiday celebrations which may be one of the reasons I am having issues with wanting to celebrate Christmas. It looks as if I will need to go pick up a thing or two to encourage the spirit to come out.

christmasfotrworth.jpg


Yes, it is time to search out my spirit of Christmas. Maybe make some Christmas gifts for friends and family, bake some cookies to share with our apartment neighbors, or go shopping to purchase some decorations. There has to be a way to find it over the next few weeks. I hope you will join me on my search and it will inspire you to step out of the comfort zone and share your spirit with others.

Thanks so much for spending a little time with us.
rensig.png


***All clipart has can be found HERE and is free to use.


Don't forget to GET OUT and live life outside your box!
gologo-sm.png

Logo Wheels - 300px - The Welcome Wagon.png
Thanks @penderis for the artwork!

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Hey @audreybits it's not every day, but it's a start of the search! I figure I can put a few days worth in one post. Maybe once a week or so.
Ren

That's absolutely fine, Ren! That huge Christmas tree is just sooo coool! How big is it? Oh, super big! With the plans you already have, it seems like you've already ignited the Christmas Spirit within you. Way to go!!!!

I have never heard of Saint Lucia or seen people celebrate this day before. It seems like there is a whole lot of celebration going on there. I love that they do have smiles on their faces to spread around during that day.

Never heard of Saint Nicholas day too but it definitely is a great holiday too...

Christmas is gonna be great this year, you'll see!!😊

Ho-ho-ho, Ren! Thank you for brightening up my day with this post.
Here are some gifts wrapped elegantly wrapped at Ravijojla Studios for your Christmas tree.

Thank you so very much! They will look beautiful under my virtual tree.

Like you, I seem to have also lost my spirit for Christmas, or really any holiday. It is just seeming like a chore to get out the decorations. We will probably go ahead and do this next weekend. If you no longer have decorations, I suggest either going to the thrift store, and/or dollar tree. Dollar tree really has some cute decorations. I usually buy one of their hanging decorations to put on our door for every holiday/season of the year because it is cute and super easy.

That's a really good idea. I don't want to do too much because we are hoping to be able to purchase some Steem since it's on sale! I am not sure why I lost the spirit. Just need to get it back. I miss it.

howdy xcountytravelers! wow being down hasn't SLOWED you down at all! Excellent job with this post and all the fascinating information and education! Great job.

Thank you. I feel a bit better but still not feeling my best. I am hoping this mess goes away soon.

We have been indulging on Christmas movies and talk of gifts for the Grand Georges. I do love that aspect of Christmas.

howdy again xcountytravelers! ok, I'm new with you guys so what is the Grand Georges?

We have Grand George the First, Second, Third, Fourth, and Fifth. They all know which one they are too. hehe. They have been George since the day they were born. My granny would do roll call with all her grandchildren and so does my mom. I decided I wasn't going to be that way and so I started calling them all George. They all come running when I call for George. Teehee, pretty smart, I think.
Ren

ha! Yes Ma'am that is very clever, I've never heard of such a thing but that works!

Because you have never met the likes of me before! hehe

lol. very true!

Ren calls all of the grand-kids "George" She pretty much calls everyone George at one point or another. So the Grand-kids are the "Grand-Georges".

Scott

Yes, I do Scott. At least I don't get confused about who's who and not remembering anyone's name! haha
Ren

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88