Oklahoma's Sequoias - Keystone Ancient Forest in Osage County

in #ulog5 years ago (edited)

The 2018 fall colors are happening early in 2018 and we decided a hike in the Keystone Ancient Forest near Sand Springs, Oklahoma, in Osage County, was a good way to view it. This 1,300-acre nature preserve is filled with ancient trees that range from 300-500 years old. These trees may not be as tall as the Sequoias in California, but they are the oldest trees we have here in Oklahoma. Here you can see what the Osage/Flint Hills area looked like before civilization took over.

leaf.jpg
Scott got as close as he could to take this one and get the amazing yellow color.


We also took a moment and shared how to use the walking sticks we use to help take some of the stress off of our hands, backs, and knees. It was a quick "how-to" but we both think it shows the details clearly and simply to help you understand the trick we use.

view-small.jpg
A view from 1051 feet above sea level looking over Keystone lake; photo taken by Scott.

This forest is managed by the Nature Conservancy. They only allow guests to come hike on specific days each month. This helps to keep down damage to the location and it definitely makes it a spot people are curious about. Here you will find Blackjack and Post Oak trees, plenty of wildlife such as bobcats, deer and many birds. I look forward to visiting this site again in another season so I can appreciate out geography history.


osageco_photo-sm.jpg

There are 3,144 counties in the United States and we are going to do our best to collect them all. We started traveling in 2013 and over the past couple of years, we decided the best way to see our world would be to do it one county at a time. If you are interested in seeing more about our travels, you can find more videos on our YouTube channel.

20181030 1.png


Scott and I are also on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/crosscountytravelers and on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/crosscountytravelers/. We try to keep everyone up-to-date here when we are traveling about. This enables us to have you join along on our County Collecting Adventures.

20181030.png


Most Importantly, you can find more detailed information about where we have been on our website http://crosscountytravelers.com. We have current United States county map showing what counties we have visited. At this time we are still working on getting more things up on the website to show you what we have done and are doing in each county, but it takes time.

countiesaugust1418large.png


Our goal is to encourage everyone to get out, live life outside their box. We have decided to do this for ourselves by seeing what is in different counties around the United States. This has enabled us to meet new people, experience new cultures, and see amazing places. If you would like to help us get our message out there via YouTube, please do this one simple thing: Give our video a thumbs up, subscribe, share our content, and interact with us. If you want to help get our message out there via SteemIt you can do a couple of things: Follow us, upvote our posts, resteem our posts, and interact with us.

Thanks so much!
signature.png


Thank you @penderis for this great bit of art.


Thank you @enginewitty for this great art piece.

Sort:  

Dear @xcountytravelers,

Your story attracted our attention and we would like to introduce our tag #archisteem that could provide you with some extra support. For your information, we are currently running the project – 1001 Places to Remember. Your content is a fit for the project and could be qualified for the 10 Steem reward biweekly contest.

It would be great if we can have this story of yours included in the project. If you agree, please reply to us.

Do drop by and take a look :) Hope to see you around soon.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

I just almost used the tag, but assumed my self promotion of our other social media accounts wouldn't fit in to what you were doing. If you would like to use the story, that is fine with us.
Ren

Got it, then we shall exempt this post for the publication :) Look forward to your next story! Thanks @xcountytravelers for the notification.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=xcountytravelers
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=oklahoma-s-sequoias-keystone-ancient-forest-in-osage-county


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi xcountytravelers,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so very much.

Hermosos arboles

Ellos realmente son. Algunos de estos árboles tenían entre 300 y 500 años de edad.

What a wonderful place. At some point in history, man fell in love with human constructions, and began a process of massive construction without taking into account any kind of equilibrium. Today we miss something natural sites.

The trip they are doing is amazing, knowing the United States by counties, it's really a great trip. I will follow them, I want to know much more about their future experiences in the long journey that they still lack.

It is beautiful there. You can visit their website HERE

We do appreciate you following our travels. We hope to bring some joy to you as we do.
Ren

I'll have to check out your videos. Are they vlog style? You are really dedicated to this travelling project. It's nice to see. With anxiety, I'm always cooped up in my house, but when I'm able to, I try to go out in nature and visit the places near my house that bring me comfort.

We have tried a little bit of everything, but I think the past eight videos have finally helped us find our place. This past one is my favorite so far. This link will take you to the post that talks about where we have been with our video style.

I also suffer from anxiety. It actually caused us to not go to Tucson a few weeks ago. However, Scott is patient with me and so understanding. I tend to get out to the parks and outdoors to help me control the depression. I talk about that anxiety and all in this post.

I am sure you didn't comment to get posts thrown your way. I am always trying to find ways to relate to others and I hope this relates. I guess, I am just looking for way to connect with anyone who will listen. haha.
Ren

The links are fine. Thanks for sharing. I enjoy connecting with others. I'll be sure to check those out.

Frank, my husband, is also very patient. Last year I was still too unwell to go to Anarchapulco in Acapulco Mexico. We're planning the trip for this February in 1029. We have a special warrantly on the whole thing so if ever I'm sick and really can't go, then we won't lose all our money on the hotel, plane and event. But I'm hoping I can go. I want to go. We never had a honey moon, so it'll be our belated honey moon. Never thought it would be in Mexico, but flying across an ocean right now is not an option. When the anxiety doesn't drain me, the burnout does, so I'm very careful what I do and where I go, when I go to social gatherings and such.

There was a time when I could travel without fear and I'm confident that I'll be able to get to that place once more where I can feel assured and do a lot more than I can right now. There are so many places I'd like to visit. Travel goals, I guess ;)

Little steps my friend, little steps. I completely understand and hope that you are able to travel to Mexico for your honeymoon. Scott and I never had one, but it feels like we are on a continual one with all this travel; even if it is just to the next county over.

I will be rooting for you and hope you are well enough to go.
Ren

Thanks, I appreciate that ;)

Wow! This is truly incredible. I've heard of trying to visit every state but every county! You two must have seen some incredible things so far and so much more to come. What gave you the idea to visit every county? I never knew or even considered there were that many counties in the USA. It looks like a lot of fun!

I've used walking sticks before but apparently I was doing it wrong hahaha thanks for sharing that. I gave your Youtube channel a follow as well.

Thanks for sharing! I'll check back in and see where you two are off to next. Cheers!

I don't know if we really realized how many counties there were until we were well on our way. However, it should give us a really great view of the US. Some counties are more explored --much like Osage County here in Oklahoma-- while others are just passed through, but it still enables us to see a lot of wonderful stuff.

I still have issues remembering to use them correctly. However, I can tell a difference in my hands if I forget. I use them most of the time when we hike due to my bad knees. They really do help.

Thank you so much for subscribing to our YouTube channel! We appreciate it so very much. I think we have grown more there on YouTube since we have come here to the SteemIt world. We hope to try DTube out a bit more, just want to use it for those short term videos since they don't keep the videos very long.

Thank you so much for checking out our video and blog. We really appreciate it. We've also followed you and and can't wait to see what you have to say about the world.
Ren

Thanks, Ren! I've given your steemit account a follow too. I think what you two are doing is fantastic and it sounds like a really good time.

Funny enough, this morning I was hiking up a hill (I'm currently in New Zealand of all places) and man I could have used those hiking sticks. Often when I'm wearing a backpack and going up hill, my lower back starts to hurt. I'm sure it would help with that.

I look forward to seeing your future posts. It's been great interacting with you! Steem on!

Thank you for that. We really love doing this. There are people who will never be able to visit places other than near their home except through those who travel and share about it. We try to find unique places too like the Keystone Ancient Forest.

I love my hiking sticks and i don't backpack! Look into getting some. Most fold down so they are easier to transport. I couldn't do the hiking if it wasn't for them. Getting old sucks.

We've been looking through your feed as well and are just love your way of telling about your travels. Thanks for sharing them.
Ren

Thanks for that, Ren! I appreciate you checking out my stuff.

I definitely feel grateful for the opportunities I've had in traveling around the world. You're right, not many get to see the places you or I have been. I feel pretty luck about it and plan to keep on sharing my photos and videos as I go.

As far as getting old goes, I just plan on telling myself I'm in my prime from here on out. I think it'll help in the long run.

Thanks for continuing the dialogue!

Yep, we are so lucky.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Gorgeous scenery hey! Love Autumn😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Autumn is one of my favorite times of years! I think we will be doing the Talimena Drive soon. It is going to be a fantastic year with as much rain as Arkansas has had this year.
Ren

There goes another of your exciting and adventurous travels! It is really good of you sharing your adventures here as it somehow gives the feeling that I have the mini-version of your tour. 😊

Indeed, management of preserved nature parks usually limit visits by scheduling entrance to maintain the park and limit damages. Others also prohibit eating anywhere in the park but within a limited and designated area only.

Yes, I read somewhere that sequoias in California are taller but I wonder how tall the Oklahoma versions are.

I am so excited to see that you enjoy traveling with us! That is the main reason we share. So many out there that will never be able to get to the places we visit.

I love that there are places who feel this way. It has helped preserve a places uniqueness so future people can enjoy them as well.

In Oklahoma the Post Oak and Blackjack oaks do not get any where near the hieght of the Sequoias, they are in a place where drought occurs a lot of the time. They get really wide and they are tough. Even their leaves are very hardy. I'll see if we have some good close ups of them.
Ren

Yes, close up shots for both the oak and sequoias will be great! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70