#Ulog 5: I'm offended by getting downvotes from stupid bots

in #ulog6 years ago

Gobsmacked!


Four days ago, I posted this post. If anyone cares to have a look, please note that I'm not after more upvotes or any other rewards, but only hope to get some clarification.

The post was a spontaneous, completely original account of my personal state of mind and body at that moment. I had a backache and some worries about my mum's health. The backache is almost gone by now, phew, but the worries about mum's health are still current. I might have to share them in another ulog tomorrow.

There was not a single word in that post that didn't come straight from my own humble brain. I stated the source of the picture I used. I was not trying to sell anything or mislead anyone. All I asked for was for other's experiences with sitting on a chair too much.

*** And yet, three accounts (bots presumably) gave the post a downvote!?! ***

Why.png
Source: pixabay


Yeiks!! I'm scared of downvotes because they are bad for my reputation, right? So I would really like to avoid them. In fact, I'll do anything to avoid them!!

What is their purpose?


The three accounts that gave me a downvote were @fushcarbon, @cleversteem and @crigmarlo. I still don't know enough of what's going on on steemit, so I looked at their profiles and also looked them up on steemd.com. They all joined steemit sometime in June and do nothing but resteem and hand out lots and lots of downvotes (a few upvotes too but mostly downvotes).

I would like to know what their gain is, why they possibly want to do that and what can be done to stop them (I'm sure there are many more like them).

Don't get me wrong, I'm all for a bot that accurately detects plagiarism. I hate plagiarism and can honestly say that in all my many years of studying, I have NEVER ever plagiarised. I'm too proud for that and I know I can come up with my own stuff without having to steal others' work.

I'm also all for bots that detect other kinds of wrongdoing. But I don't have any patience for a bot that hands out downvotes for no reason whatsoever. I don't think they do the platform any good and would like to see them change their ways, or go away.

Thanks for listening to this little rant. I will now return to my usual state of peace and happiness!

Thank you to @ulogs and @surpassinggoogle for the opportunity to blow off some steem in an easy, non-judgemental environment.

And as always, I thank @welcomewagon for the best welcome to this community one can wish for.


Peace to all xxx

Sort:  

there is a group of about 70 that are doing it currently @ydraz. Their delegation they got on signup is being removed. Don't let little small fry like that upset you when they downvote, it takes someone with more SP to hurt your reputation. Think of those downvotes more like mosquitoes buzzing about.

Thanks so much! I like the mosquito analogy and good to know it won't hurt me. I still don't understand what they gain from it though, seems just silly.

You're not alone. I've been targeted by 4 so far. But they are so stupid they downvoted a bunch of posts that had already paid out.

Thank you, @choogirl. It's comforting to know that I'm not the only one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85