Ulog: Art by the non-talented

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

This is going to be a short one

When I see all the beautiful art on steemit, for example in this ulog by @eveningart, I wish I had more talent for it too. I've tried a few times when I was very young but have long resigned to the fact that visual art is something I'm just not good at.

But then, maybe my talent has only been hiding? After all, I have two children who are both creating the most magnificent pieces of art which are hanging all over my walls. And it can't be from their dad. He's an awesome musician but he can't draw any better than I can. Perhaps a mix of hidden genes that are only coming to the fore in combination with each other, haha.

Does that mean there is hope for me?

Accidental breakfast creativity

Soooo.... this morning at breakfast I happened to eat two passionfruits of different sizes and colours and put the shells inside each other ready to discard. I was just about to chuck them in the compost when I thought, hey, that looks pretty!

So I got really creative, fetched a banana and cut a date in half and the result was this:


Fruit art.jpg
Yes, I created that, haha


Am I an artist or what?

Haha, I wish. But no. I'm not. Maybe an artist in my home for my own amusement, or the amusement of any gracious steemian who cares to look and have a laugh.

I do look forward to have some crayon and playdough fun with my future grandchildren, but I will never expect anyone else to appreciate my creations as actual art. And if I can fool the grandchildren into thinking I'm a great artist for a little while, they'll figure it out soon enough.

Let's face it, this awesome piece above is as good as it gets for me with visual art. And I'm ok with that. Completely. I gladly leave that realm to those who actually create beautiful and meaningful and stunning looking art to enrich the world.

For me, it will always be just a bit of fun!

Sort:  

Hi! Thanks so much for the shoutout 😘

See... I think the art is in the doing... the creating... and the reaction of your audience. Your fruity face made me smile... sooo - a print in a posh frame or onto a canvas, placed in pride of place on the wall - I just wouldn't be surprised to find it in the Tate! I mean, take Tracy Emin's unmade bed... in my house, that's just one of my typically terrible housework days... but in her hands, she took the art world by storm.
E x

It really is in the eye of the beholder, isn't it. Your portraits, animal and human, are super impressive to me.

To me too!!!! When I first saw them ... I couldn't believe it!!!! I especially love how she captures light and fine hairs!!!! How!?!?! My mind doesn't work that way... I can't see how 2d material becomes 3d!!!! Lololol

So impressive!!!

Thank you! I get this odd thing happen after drawing where all I can see is shadow and light around me. It's like my brain has switched how it sees after drawing for too long and I'm just looking at shadows and light values. Very weird! Freaked me out the first couple of times!

That actually makes a lot of sense!!!! I always have thought that artists just see the world differently.

Aren't brains amazing!?!??

Brains are bonkers and just need some training to switch gears I think x

Exactly, how is that even possible, right? Mindblowing!

Whoa!!!! Go look at @eveningart's new "how to" video!!!! It's crazy!!!! But I like.... Saw it come to life and now I want to try! Hahahahhahaa

It really is- and thank you so much. My portraits really are just a bunch of learned techniques pulled together after lots of practise! Hopefully I can share some of those techniques here to anyone who's interested in learning. E x

I refuse to believe this.lololol

REFUSE!!!!!

there is NO WAY that I can be taught how to draw like you. Hahahhahaa

There has to be some talent there already that just gets perfected lol

Maybe the way of seeing things is in-built, but the techniques can all be learned- just like people, with enough time and guidance can learn an instrument E x

Mine would end up looking like a bad, sad version of yours.lololol
But....I shall endeavor to persevere!

(Well. To make the cool thing you just showed. Then... We will have to wait for the next how to video!!)

Yay! And that's okay - remember what I said- practise, not perfection... E x

Talent is an interesting thing. I definitely think people are born with certain tendencies and some have to work much harder to learn something than others. My husband has been teaching guitar to hundreds of kids and it's very evident there too.

Hehehehe!!!!! But what fun!!!! I love that you took the time to create this and share it with us for giggles!!!

Now I'm curious to see what your children are making!!!! Post some of their stuff please!!!! ♥️♥️♥️

Will do, Dreemie, but I have to ask them first. xxx

Ok! Hehehe I hope they say yes 😊
Now I'm dying to see it hehehehe

I love art.. probably because I'm so enamored with the mind that can create art!

If you are not the artist then the boredom is. Hahahaha, good creativity though.

Thank you, yes, I don't think artists ever get bored.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81