The beers I discovered this week

in #ulog6 years ago

zekes-hops.jpg

You would think that this grizzled veteran had tasted all the beers around but that is definitely not the case. Here are a few I tried for the first time this week.

54759257184__7E1E8F40-A7CB-488E-814E-8758C679042C.jpg

Amsterdam Space Invaders IPA - It has been years since I was much of a fan of Amsterdam Brewing in Toronto http://www.amsterdambeer.com/ They were good to start exploring microbrews 15 years or so ago but I found so much better breweries. This beer was surprisingly good thought would not make it into my top 20. Nice and hoppy and a bit sweet the way I like it and I would buy it again if there we none of my favourites, or I needed a change.

IMG_3373.jpg

Flying Monkeys Live Transmission Milkshake IPA** - As stated in my original beer blog, http://www.flyingmonkeys.ca/ has been one of my favourite breweries around for a long time. I am generally not huge on milkshake anything (uses lactose sugar for a creamier taste I find) but I had to try it anyway, Well, I actually liked it a lot! It didn't wow me but did taste different than the normal IPAs but not annoyingly so. The more I drank, the better it tasted. So, I will definitely buy this again. May even squeak into my top 20 a while.

IMG_3371.jpg

Collective Arts Brewing - Mash Up the Jam Sour - All of my hipster beer buddies seem to be going crazy for the sours. I really like https://collectiveartsbrewing.com/legal-drinking-age/ so I thought I would give it a try. Well, it was sour as hell and was not really enjoyable to drink as expected. I like strong tasting and sour candies but this was a little much. I will just pawn the second one I still have in the fridge off on one of the hipsters.

IMG_3368.jpg
IMG_3369.jpg

Omnipollo Zodiac IPA - What a fantastic find! Those sour hipsters lead me on to this one as well and http://www.omnipollo.com/beer/?age=1 looks legit and this beer is great. Definitely fits within my top 20 current favourites now. Full bodied and slightly sweet as well but nice and big tasting without feeling sport hopped. WOULD BUY AGAIN....Just hard to find it seems.

IMG_3344.JPG

Trailer Park Boys - Green Bastard IPA** - You may have seen this one in your weekly zekely https://steemit.com/ulog/@zekepickleman/ulog-your-weekly-zekely and read I bought it as a joke to support one of my favourite troupes and my wife likes the ale. http://www.lcbo.com/lcbo/product/trailer-park-boys-the-green-bastard/559955#.WxcAcEgvyHs Great description here and I would buy again. http://www.lcbo.com/lcbo/product/trailer-park-boys-the-green-bastard/559955#.WxcAcEgvyHs
cheers.jpg

What did you drink this week?

Sort:  

Im sorry man. Coffee addict over here. Im already looking forward to my coffee tomorrow morning :D

Must admit that these sunny days ask for a cold beer.

Oh I love my coffee too! I grind it up fresh every morning and make it manually in a french press. Couldn't live without it!

Sounds good. :)

I like how you rated the beers. It's good you have favorites and have discovered an alternative you can buy if the preferred brands aren't available.

There are so many good beers nowadays with the microbreweries popping up in every small town. Seems there is no end to the new ones and I love that.

Also, our liquor store has a guy that is REALLY on top of the newer beers and always has a great selection.

Never a shortage!

This post has received a 6.59 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84