ULOG # 11 - The Garden - She she blooms!

in #ulog6 years ago

family garden.jpg

While I have been off gallivanting, (check my blog for tales of beer and cottage and sailing and climbing to heights and BJJ and such) many have probably either been sitting on the edge of their seats pining for a garden update, or figuring that being so caught up in summer, the garden must be dead by now. Though I am about to go through a fertilizing phase, that is untrue!

Here is your update via pictures and prose.

IMG_3671.jpg

It is starting to look like a REAL garden, filling in and overflowing the walls of the box build this spring.

IMG_3690.jpg

My Chili peppers are doing well too. I was so enthralled by my first one, I mistakenly ended up picking it while it was still green before full ripening. .....so I HAD to eat it. Very tasty with the freshness and a hint of mild spice. I bet my red ones will get spicier!

IMG_3678.jpg

There are a couple red ones growing in with the green and an orange backdrop of marigold to keep away critters.

IMG_3676.jpg

I am REALLY excited for my jalapenos as the first couple are showing some nice size and shape. Can't wait to eat the first one and hope it burns my tongue out.

IMG_3680.jpg

The Sugar Snap Peas on the end are starting to climb nicely and they have produced their first pea! They are eaten in the husk whole and my completely non-vegetarian little one actually likes to snack on them. Says this first one was a little like the ones in the store and hopes future ones are a little sweeter.

IMG_3674.jpg

The first tomatoes we started watching a few weeks ago are doing very well too putting on size and getting rounder. That one is about the size of a dood's fist and is showing no signs of red so it may get quite large. I see at least 3 dozen growing in the other plants and think my wife might be right when she predicts a bumper crop.

IMG_3673.JPG

We have a number of green peppers growing as well. This one is the largest maybe a little bigger than a golf ball. These, I will eat many of when they ripen.

IMG_3675.jpg

The mystery of the @lostandconfused plants seems to be playing itself out as Sunflowers. This is an extreme closeup of the head of the flower starting to form and bloom. They should make for some very good colour, snacks, and bird food later on.

IMG_3682.jpg

A failed attempt at a depth of field shot with the iPhone but we have a few dozen raspberries growing on the plants we planted last year. The bees are also really liking them which may be why we have so many.

IMG_3681.jpg

Another nice surprise from last year are the Calendulas are growing again. Edible flowers and they are relatively low maintenance and look great.

IMG_3521.jpg

Greek oregano still flourishing under the tomatoes and covering the ground under them nicely. I have to figure out how to harvest it properly as I love using it in cooking sauces.

Due to popular demand, here is the video action shot of the watering of the jungle.

IMG_3691.jpg

So far so good! What are you growing?

Sort:  

Great garden, I'm also trying to grow some cherry tomatoes but every time they grow they die but theirs is excellent, regards

Yes! My other little one loves to snack on cherry tomatoes and I planted a bunch from seeds. I have a whole lot of mystery tomato plants that got mixed up as seeds and I am HOPING some of them turn out to be cherry ones. I won't find out for another month probably

Learned a lesson about labeling them a bit better for next year. Good luck don't stop trying to grow them!

Look at that! it's coming out great! raspberries are my favorite!

I'm growing a bunch of tropical trees, mainly from vietnam... (from seeds) so i will probably not get the chance to enjoy them...

and of course, quails - a great plant - i water them, and they make eggs...

Hahah quail egg plants are legit!

Trees from seeds are what will save the world.

How is the lost and confused plant growing ? Lol

Not bad! It is almost as tall as I am and the flower is starting to grow.

Once we confirm if it is or isn’t a sunflower, does that mean it is no longer lost and confused ? Lol

I guess that is up to you!

Hmm 🤔 Lets see if we are right first for sure. Then decide . Lol

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 13.88% upvote from @edensgarden courtesy of @zekepickleman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04