Ulog# 18 - Zeke's newbie Garden Experiment

in #ulog6 years ago

family garden.jpg

9 days since the last garden update so here is your look into the back yard, where I built the box 2 months ago. You may recall from the original post https://steemit.com/ulog/@zekepickleman/zeke-s-family-garden I figured it was time to teach the kids to grow food, and see how well I knew how to do so myself.

Humble Beginnings and now here is what it looks like as of 5 minutes ago.

IMG_3970.jpg

Here is your patented mumbling video walk through in case you have 3 minutes for the immersive tour.

Otherwise, here are a few snaps of the blooms and yield as things start to ripen......

IMG_3960.jpg

SUnflowers are easily 7 feet tall and starting to produce some nice faces. Funny how some bloom one big flower while others produce multiple smaller ones.

IMG_3962.jpg

The green peppers are about ready to be eaten as well. I have taken one off that is about the size you get in the grocery store. The others are supposed to turn orange for their variety so I will keep them on a while and see.

IMG_3963.jpg

The corn portion of the experiment was just for fun as our town is literally surrounded by corn fields and a 5 minute drive in any direction will bring you to a corn stand. They are neat though and starting to grow. You will see in the video that I think a squirrel or bird is already starting to enjoy some of them.

IMG_3964.jpg

We have taken maybe 6 beefsteak tomatoes off so far and they are very good. My wife is convinced she can taste a hint of oregano that I have planted underneath them all. I hope so! IN the meantime, I am eating them on what seems to be everything because I should have way more than I can eat. The best thing so far is slicing them thick and grilling them like a steak on the bbq!

IMG_3965.jpg

This is my largest cucumber but I have a good number of them growing and almost as big now. This one seems to have developed a partner since I last looked. They grow up so fast. Next year I will grow Dill cucumbers to pickle for sure.

IMG_3966.jpg

There are quite a few chili peppers growing and they matured faster than probably any veggie I planted. They are nice and hot too but more tasty. I will dry some out and crush them for sauces and maybe pickle some of them.

IMG_3967.jpg

The first Jalapeno I harvested was hot as hell. I guess not Ghost Pepper hot but tasty and hot! This one seems to have developed cracks which is a normal sign of maturity and may indicate it is hotter than the last one! https://homeguides.sfgate.com/jalapeno-peppers-crack-bush-89284.html

IMG_3968.jpg

These are some of the plum tomatoes I planted in a pot. Took them quite a long time to grow but I may have a few so the ladies can snack and have them in their salads.

IMG_3969.jpg

My @lostandconfused cucumbers (named so as they have seemed to wander off the beaten path and bloomed on the other side of a hole in the fence) are doing very well. Maybe it is the sun hitting them as they grow or just trying to be funny but I will have top pick them before some other animal or neighbor enjoys them.

IMG_3970.jpg

zekepickleman.jpg

Are you growing anything this year?

Sort:  

Great garden, really impressive

Gracias!

Some say gardening is the easiest way to spend $100 in order to save $30. There is something to be said about pesticide and GMO free veggies straight from the plant to the plate though. That and showing the kiddies how to grow their own food and celebrate growth is my hippie quotient for the summer!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by (LoD)Zeke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Yay ! So the lost and confused plant was a sunflower . Your garden looks great !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79