ULOG day 2: Steemit Sailing Mundays!

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

sailing munday.jpg!

IMG_3216.JPG

It seems that sailing on the Hanse 34 this week is out due to some boat damage (Too much wind and blew the Traveler Block and a lost batten.....crazy weekend race!) and not enough crew so I am going Thursday instead on the J27! Makes me happy because I have had a specific role on this boat and part in the 4-man crew we have had for years and years. Not that there is anything wrong with the Hanse, just sometimes it is good to change back to old faithful and sail the smaller boat.

So, I am looking back today on the many years of experiences and photos I have aboard Curved Air.

IMG_5326.JPG

I only get to go to the pointy end before the race so I have to take a shot with the camera on these rare occasions.

34300_10150206200675635_2051824_n.jpg

Here is a shot of the crew I have on my fridge the time we won the Lake Ontario championship.

20329110609_a3a3a8f876_o.jpg

Here is a shot of the current crew we have today. It will be great to work the chute again downwind. I love the rolling waves and power we can get when I reef on the sheets and surf down the waves.

20515807205_0cf47a2089_o.jpg

The rest of the time I am pulling on Jenny sheets, rushing to get it tight and in place, and then scrambling to get to the rail for some hiking. Rinse and repeat for every tack.

IRCNA11.jpg

Also fun going through some good older pics and remembering all the characters we had racing on the boat.

Back at it! Wish me luck and I will do a walk up video for next week's post.

Sort:  

Pleasant experience to share with friends, the sea is appropriate to enjoy great friends and great adventures.

Agreed. In Canada, well my part at least, we have lakes as big as seas so this is all fresh water.

Definitely fun to share with the sailors and hopefully fun to read in a blog.

Thanks for commenting!

This post has received a 4.18 % upvote from @boomerang.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.89% upvote!
I was summoned by @zekepickleman. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16