# ulog 4 A trip away is always good.

in #ulogs6 years ago

I have been away from the uk for over a year now, and in that year a lot has been accomplished, we are reviving a old run down house, clearing and maintaining a garden. Building a new life for ourselves.

credit pixabay

These past few months, we have been so busy just getting on with things, that we have not really missed going anywhere. But lately I found myself wanting a mini vacation, I mean how crazy is that, a mini vacation where every day feels like a holiday.

I guess I am just missing a change of scenery, having three dogs we don't get the option to travel much without taking them with us. But one dog will not behave himself which sets off the other too, so a day trip away is nice but thats about it.

However some good news is on the horizon.

A friend of ours recently noted that we needed to get away as we were thinking of going overnight to Sofia for a trip away. He has kindly offered to look after the house and dogs for us to give us a chance to have a get away and recharge our batteries.

When you are building an extension, and you are making it out of reclaimed materials for 99% of the job, using what you already have it takes its toll. I feel that a change of scenery is just what we need right now. I feel right now I need to take a bit of a break from the people that we see a lot of, and just to take some time out for ourselves.

While we are over there, we are going to take a look at some fires but I pretty much have a idea of the fire that we are going to get. Behold the avangard stove, this is an awesome stove with a huge output and powerful enough to run five radiators around the house.

Source

What is more it actually has an oven above it, which means that whilst sitting in the living room, should I choose to I can cook something in the oven, how good is that. You sit and watch tv, while you have a casserole cooking. No going backwards an forwards to keep checking it you have it there to keep an eye on.

In addition to that, we have some old left over reclaimed wood left which we found two huge pieces which we have started to make the dining room table out of. The table will be quite large but the perfect setting for people to eat, I really now can picture the finalisation of the house.

No photos yet though don't want to give anything away until completion which will be a while longer yet.

If I had of pictured this a year ago I don't think I would have slept, but now I am so excited to see the end result. If we can focus now on getting the electrics to the extension and the heating and water ready, the windows in we can concentrate on the decoration of the winter.

credit pixabay

But the main thing is having the heat and making sure the house is toasty warm for next winter, I really don't want to do another winter like this last one, if I can get away with it.

Freelance Scheduling

So now that I am doing just more than steemit I need to divide my time so today im working on scheduling my days to stick to them for work purposes. The good thing is being able to set my hours, the bad thing is that I won't be going to bed before 2am.

But its all part and parcel of the course and to be honest readers I am loving it really loving it, so today is a day of organisation and cleaning and sorting out, so I took this break just to give you an update on what is happening.

I seriously need to start thinking of other things to write in addition to the ulogs but they are so worth it. @surpassinggoogle had a great idea when they created these.

homage-to-a-gentleman

The STEEM Engine

ASAPERS

My Achievements on Steemit

Sort:  

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

How exciting, that you can finally visualize the completion phase in your head! Kudos to you for using reclaimed items for the construction! It will be great when you finally are able to share photos with us! TheAllianceStar-25x25.png

At this point, talking about renovations makes my eyes glaze over. lol! But I'm glad things are progressing with your project. I hope you are toasty warm this winter—that makes such a difference. And yes, taking a trip away is always good! 💖

What an amazing and ambitious project you've taken on. I'm so looking forward to more posts as things progress. And I, too, hope you don't freeze this winter. Don't they have things like milk-house heaters or electric space heaters in Bulgaria -- that you can use to at least keep your office (or one room at a time) warm? That's what I used for years when I lived alone here in the mountains. Me and the dogs and cats -- and one warm room where I worked and slept in the winter. And no sky high utility bills that threatened me with heart failure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30